Search Results: "Karen Healey"


BOOK REVIEW

WHILE WE RUN by Karen Healey
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 27, 2014

"Suspenseful, well-crafted and visionary. (Science fiction. 12-18)"
In the follow-up to When We Wake (2013), a diverse, skilled and politically committed group of teenagers fights a chillingly sinister government in a future Australia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN WE WAKE by Karen Healey
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 5, 2013

"Accessible, thoughtful and compelling—science fiction done right. (Science fiction. 12 & up)"
In a fast-moving and carefully built science-fiction story, Tegan Oglietti attends a climate change rally in 2027 and wakes up in a hospital just over 100 years later. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUARDIAN OF THE DEAD by Karen Healey
FANTASY
Released: April 12, 2010

"Fast-paced adventure and an unfamiliar, frightening enemy set a new scene for teen urban fantasy. (Urban fantasy. YA)"
Ellie is in her final year at a New Zealand boarding school, living the typical teen's life: classes, friends, a black belt in tae kwon do and a crush on an adorable yet enigmatic boy named Mark. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SHATTERING by Karen Healey
Released: Sept. 5, 2011

"Less a whodunit than a 'how do we stop it!?', this fantasy-steeped mystery should appeal to fans of Franny Billingsley's Chime (2011) and Holly Black's Curse Workers series. (Paranormal suspense. 14 & up)"
A motley crew of teens band together to catch a serial killer and break the perverse spell that keeps their New Zealand resort town so idyllic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELIZABETH IS MISSING by Emma Healey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 10, 2014

"A poignant novel of loss."
Maud's memory is failing, slipping further away each day. So how can she convince anyone that her best friend is truly missing? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"A clever inclusion of architecture in the essence of English royal history."
A tireless biography of the house first dubbed a gift to Queen Charlotte in 1763 and its transformations during nine generations of British monarchy. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KAREN ENGLISH
by Megan Labrise

The inspiration for Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English’s latest middle grade novel all comes down to one unforgettable quote.

“We had a housekeeper,” says English, who was born in 1954 and grew up in Los Angeles, “and she pulled me aside one day, when I was about nine, and told me that, if I ever went ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CANTERBURY PAPERS by Judith Koll Healey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"Intriguing premise, stifled by a scholarly obsessiveness."
A dangerous mission and a reluctant princess. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EMILY & HERMAN by John J. Healey
Released: May 1, 2013

"Despite the fact that Healey tries to deliver an entertaining romance, some readers may feel uncomfortable with the liberties he takes with these literary icons."
Healey takes poetic license in his debut novel about a "forgotten" manuscript—supposedly found among his deceased grandfather's belongings—that tells the story of a romantic relationship between two of American's most well-known early writers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEALEY ON HEALTH by Gregory J. Healey
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 9, 2015

"A pleasant, if slightly repetitive, set of medical-themed essays."
A doctor's newspaper column sheds light on everyday risks and ailments. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WINDOWS WITH BIRDS by Karen Ritz
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2010

"Touching, unique and wise, a perfectly pitched tale of acceptance of the inevitable changes of life. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Cat lives in a house "that [has] windows with birds, / twenty-six stairs, / twenty- hiding places, and / one foolish mouse in the basement." Read full book review >