Search Results: "Karen Kelly"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 2, 2013

"A smoothly put together business leadership primer that could use further, deeper elaboration."
A corporate consultant argues that kinder, gentler corporate leaders and corporations are winning out over older, tougher images of take-no-prisoners leadership. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROSPICE by Karen Kelly
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2013

"An often engaging novel with dramatic plot twists."
A World War II-era family saga filled with secrets, passion and untimely tragedy. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WHAT'S THAT, GIRL? TIMMY'S FALLEN DOWN A WELL?
by Leila Roy

I can’t seem to get away from abandoned wells lately. And boy oh boy, they TERRIFY me, both in story form and in real life. They’re so ubiquitous in Maine that growing up, my parents were ALWAYS warning me about them, and then, years later, The Ring didn’t assuage my fears any.

In adult life, we had one in ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES AND NEW DISCOVERIES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As I prepare for another year to roll in, I thought I’d share some of my favorite reads and new discoveries from 2016.

Some of you may know this has been a bit of a tumultuous year for me, but I was blessed to travel to a number of conferences, including RT, RWA, Chicago North’s Spring Fling, and ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

KAREN ENGLISH
by Megan Labrise

The inspiration for Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English’s latest middle grade novel all comes down to one unforgettable quote.

“We had a housekeeper,” says English, who was born in 1954 and grew up in Los Angeles, “and she pulled me aside one day, when I was about nine, and told me that, if I ever went ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

IT’S A BUTTERFLY’S LIFE by Irene Kelly
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2007

"A book that proves science nonfiction can be accurate, factual and completely engrossing, this is a must for libraries and any curious nature lovers. (Picture book/nonfiction. 4-10)"
Almost any five-year-old can tell you the basics of a butterfly's life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: June 15, 2005

"The unorthodox format is well suited to spark interest in other imaginative journeys and to reading and writing about other parts of the world both in and out of the classroom. (author's note) (Picture book. 6-8)"
Owney, a scruffy little stray mutt, wanders into the Albany post office in 1889, wins the hearts of the postal workers and becomes their mascot, riding the mail wagon to and from the train station. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RAVEN’S GIFT by Kelly Dupre
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2001

"While the full mystic import of the narrator's epiphany will likely escape most young readers, the appealingly primitive illustrations and the fundamental lure of the unknown will draw children in to this most unusual and pleasing offering. (Picture book/nonfiction. 5-8)"
A tale of endurance and mystery in the Arctic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVEN AN OSTRICH NEEDS A NEST by Irene Kelly
ANIMALS
Released: March 15, 2009

"Though the addition of source notes and an index would aid the budding researcher, this offering will intrigue many young ornithologists. (Informational picture book. 5-9)"
From the North American bald eagle to the Australian brush-turkey, the nesting habits of 40 different birds are briefly explored. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOUISE LOVES ART by Kelly Light
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 2014

"Cheerfully art-ful. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A fresh and bright sibling tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOLL WEEVIL BALL by Kelly Murphy
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"A pleasant take on the idea, which children are always receptive to, that size and success are not necessarily related. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A tiny beetle finds the perfect dancing partner in this endearing, if awkwardly written, debut. Read full book review >