Search Results: "Karen Leggett Abouraya"


BOOK REVIEW

MALALA YOUSAFZAI by Karen Leggett Abouraya
Released: Jan. 29, 2014

"A moving real-life story well-told and beautifully illustrated."
A nonfiction picture book about a young Pakistani activist who believes that education is a basic human right. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 30, 2012

"A stunning visual recreation of a recent historical event. (Informational picture book. 6-9)"
Freedom and libraries: an essential combination. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KAREN ENGLISH
by Megan Labrise

The inspiration for Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English’s latest middle grade novel all comes down to one unforgettable quote.

“We had a housekeeper,” says English, who was born in 1954 and grew up in Los Angeles, “and she pulled me aside one day, when I was about nine, and told me that, if I ever went ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 11, 2002

"Overall, a persuasive argument for reassessing the career of a neglected American writer."
Novelist Leggett, a former director of Iowa's Workshop, makes a convincing case that Saroyan was more complex and interesting, both as man and as artist, than his current reputation suggests. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WINDOWS WITH BIRDS by Karen Ritz
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2010

"Touching, unique and wise, a perfectly pitched tale of acceptance of the inevitable changes of life. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Cat lives in a house "that [has] windows with birds, / twenty-six stairs, / twenty- hiding places, and / one foolish mouse in the basement." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MR. WILLIAMS by Karen Barbour
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"What a delightful way to show young readers 'how it was back then.' (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-10)"
Mr. J.W. Williams grew up in rural Louisiana during the Depression. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE PUPPY, THREE TALES by Karen Salmansohn
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Trite, semi-legible, and over-designed. (Fiction. 9-11)"
Only readers who can tackle Marissa Moss's Amelia's Notebook (1995) and its sequels without eyestrain will be comfortable reading this hand-written, neon-colored monologue. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY FIRST KWANZAA by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2003

"A solid, sweet, and meaty choice for holiday reading. (Picture book. 2-5)"
With colorful collage and mixed-media illustrations alongside brief, yet informative text, Katz's latest offers youngsters an engaging introduction to the African-American holiday. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OVER THE MOON by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"As in Jamie Lee Curtis and Laura Cornell's Tell Me Again About the Night I Was Born (1996), both text and pictures are suffused with anticipation and joyful welcome at the baby's arrival. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A happy, colorful book about a man and woman dreaming of their soon-to-be-born adopted baby, receiving the news of her birth, and flying to the ``faraway place'' where they meet their child. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABY'S BIG BUSY BOOK by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"Little fingers will enjoy exploring these pages again and again. (Board book. 1-3)"
A day in Baby's life, with flaps, textures, sparkly bling, and mirrors to explore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOW I'M BIG! by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 19, 2013

"Faux pas aside, it's a sweet celebration of leaving baby days behind. (Picture book. 2-5)"
There's a lot to like in this book about all things "big kid." Read full book review >