Search Results: "Karen Rivers"


BOOK REVIEW

FINDING RUBY STARLING by Karen Rivers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"Totes bittersweet. (Fiction. 10-13)"
A separated-at-birth story for the digital age. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ME by Karen Rivers
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Though the footnotes feel gimmicky and distracting, readers will likely be able to look past them (or just skip over them) and cheer for Tink as she comes into her own. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Cleverly woven through the titular encyclopedia—with entries as seemingly mundane as "Apple" and "Oxen"—is the touchingly real and often humorous story of a preteen's struggles with family, friendship and first love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GIRL IN THE WELL IS ME by Karen Rivers
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 15, 2016

"Moving, suspenseful, and impossible to put down. (Fiction. 10-16)"
Kammie's fallen down an abandoned well, beyond the reach of the three mean, popular girls who got her into this life-threatening mess. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEFORE WE GO EXTINCT by Karen Rivers
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 28, 2016

"JC's voice, spoken and unspoken, rings with a note of authenticity. (Fiction. 12-17)"
A summer with his estranged father on an island in the Pacific Northwest helps JC come to grips with his best friend's death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HEALING TIME OF HICKEYS by Karen Rivers
FICTION
Released: April 1, 2004

"An amusing but ultimately inconsequential time-filler for humorous fictional journal fans who don't mind that they've been there, done that. (Fiction. YA)"
The teen-angst-filled diaries of Adrian Mole, Mia Thermopolis, and Georgia Nicholson have all preceded 16-year-old Haley Andromeda's, so what's left for an insecure worry wart to write about after such hilariously detailed stream-of-consciousness rants on zits, lust, insecurities, crazy cats, thongs, and full-frontal snogging? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE, ISH by Karen Rivers
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 14, 2017

"For those willing to immerse themselves in a sad, harrowing story, this is a worthwhile and affecting odyssey. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Ish, who is determined to be among the first settlers on Mars, goes on a different and unexpected journey after she is diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WHAT'S THAT, GIRL? TIMMY'S FALLEN DOWN A WELL?
by Leila Roy

I can’t seem to get away from abandoned wells lately. And boy oh boy, they TERRIFY me, both in story form and in real life. They’re so ubiquitous in Maine that growing up, my parents were ALWAYS warning me about them, and then, years later, The Ring didn’t assuage my fears any.

In adult life, we had one in ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BEST LAID PLANS & OTHER DISASTERS by Amy Rivers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 13, 2017

"Chicken soup for the working woman's soul."
The female mayor of a small town navigates politics, relationship troubles, and the reality that life doesn't always go according to plan. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE, AVA by Alton Rivers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 6, 2007

"Sweet longings and patriotism do not a satisfying novel make."
A romantic fantasy about a troubled Air Force pilot and an aging Ava Gardner never gets off the ground due to wooden characters and dialogue. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

4TH AND FIXED by Reggie Rivers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

"A natty condemnation of financial misdoings in the NFL as well as a piece of insider's delight for gridiron fans."
Meat and potatoes for the football fan, courtesy of ex-pro (and current sports journalist) Rivers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 23, 1996

"Students of the media will want to have a good look at this deconstruction of the headlines."
A spirited reading of the daily papers, with an eye to uncovering the cultural and political forces that shape the news. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SECOND MRS. HOCKADAY by Susan Rivers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"A compulsively readable work that takes on the legacy of slavery in the United States, the struggles specific to women, and the possibilities for empathy and forgiveness."
Diary entries and letters form the basis of this novel about one woman's experiences during the Civil War. Read full book review >