Search Results: "Karen Roosa"


BOOK REVIEW

BEACH DAY by Karen Roosa
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 19, 2001

"Over too soon. (Picture book. 3-6)"
It is a land and waterscape that reaches right down into our primordial souls—the beach, here given full iconic treatment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIPPA AT THE PARADE by Karen Roosa
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2009

"Fortenberry's rippling illustrations, at once serenely indistinct and lovingly detailed, combine misty, milky hues with thick, robust pastels, presenting a celebration of excitement and indulgence that can only be fully appreciated in childhood. (Picture book. 2-5)"
This happy-go-lucky story provides the flavors, sounds and colors of a splendid day out while depicting a time-honored tradition. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KAREN ENGLISH
by Megan Labrise

The inspiration for Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English’s latest middle grade novel all comes down to one unforgettable quote.

“We had a housekeeper,” says English, who was born in 1954 and grew up in Los Angeles, “and she pulled me aside one day, when I was about nine, and told me that, if I ever went ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NOW I'M BIG! by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 19, 2013

"Faux pas aside, it's a sweet celebration of leaving baby days behind. (Picture book. 2-5)"
There's a lot to like in this book about all things "big kid." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY FIRST RAMADAN by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"While more details would be useful, the text is appropriate as an introduction. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this simple explanation of Ramadan, a little boy explains that he will be fasting for the first time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TWELVE HATS FOR LENA by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

In a broad, simple, Anne Rockwell-like manner, Katz (Excuse Me!, not reviewed, etc.) poses a child peering out delightedly from beneath 12 big hats, each decorated with an array of iconic items. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MR. BOW TIE by Karen Barbour
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1991

"(Picture book. 4-8)*justify no*"
Two kids tell how their dad's gift of a meal to the homeless man who sleeps outside their neighborhood store leads first to an informal exchange of his help (sweeping the sidewalk, etc.) for more food and eventually to his going happily away with his parents, contacted through ``a big office.'' Barbour (who illustrated Adoff's Flamboyan, 1988) is a gifted artist whose vibrant colors and comfortably rounded forms are not especially appropriate to the topic; and while the kindness and respect shown towards this troubled veteran (whose name proves to be ``Elliot Lyman Bristow'') are laudable, the conclusion is unrealistic: jacket copy reveals that ``the real Mr. Bow Tie remains on the streets.'' Well-intentioned but simplistic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KISS BABY'S BOO-BOO by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2016

"After reading this, what grown-up will resist kissing the baby—boo-boo or not! (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
Nothing works better than a "kiss kiss" on a "boo-boo" in Katz's newest entry celebrating the baby world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT DOES BABY LOVE? by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 16, 2014

"A board book that's about as exciting as plain oatmeal. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
Babies play with things they love in this lift-a-flap book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY FIRST CHINESE NEW YEAR by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2004

"This one's a winner. (author's note) (Picture book. 2-5)"
A girl and her family celebrate the Chinese New Year in Katz's engaging offering. Read full book review >