Search Results: "Karen Sandstrom"


BOOK REVIEW

WEIRD?  (ME, TOO!)  LET'S BE FRIENDS by Sara Holbrook
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"A playful yet thoughtful look at the many manifestations of friendship—through words, teasing, physical play—just right for the mid-elementary crowd. (Poetry. 8-12)"
Performance poet Holbrook teams up again with Sandstrom (Zombies! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZOMBIES! by Sara Holbrook
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"This is good classroom poetry, though, if not verse for the ages. (Poetry. 9-11)"
"He called on me. / My answer's wrong. / Caught like a squirrel / on an open lawn. / Standing alone, / twiddling my paws, / frozen in place, / working my jaws. / I'd like to bolt, / but where? / I moan. / Could anyone / be more / alone?" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 14, 1993

"Fine background detail, however, and endearing characters in this third adventure for Sam and Nicky (The Devil Down Home, Death Down Home)."
Photographer and former Army brat Nicky Titus, wife of Sam, the Catlin County, Oklahoma, sheriff, narrates this tale of modern- day cattle-rustling—which begins with the hit-and-run death of hard-pressed rancher Joe Pilkington. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DEVIL DOWN HOME by Eve K. Sandstrom
Released: Dec. 18, 1991

"Their rebellious, contrary-to- small-town vision is sorely missed."
In a disappointing second in the Sam and Nicky Titus series (Death Down Home, 1990), Sandstrom turns Holton, Oklahoma, into a generic ain't-small-town-America-cute? locale. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KAREN ENGLISH
by Megan Labrise

The inspiration for Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English’s latest middle grade novel all comes down to one unforgettable quote.

“We had a housekeeper,” says English, who was born in 1954 and grew up in Los Angeles, “and she pulled me aside one day, when I was about nine, and told me that, if I ever went ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WINDOWS WITH BIRDS by Karen Ritz
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2010

"Touching, unique and wise, a perfectly pitched tale of acceptance of the inevitable changes of life. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Cat lives in a house "that [has] windows with birds, / twenty-six stairs, / twenty- hiding places, and / one foolish mouse in the basement." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MR. WILLIAMS by Karen Barbour
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"What a delightful way to show young readers 'how it was back then.' (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-10)"
Mr. J.W. Williams grew up in rural Louisiana during the Depression. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE PUPPY, THREE TALES by Karen Salmansohn
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Trite, semi-legible, and over-designed. (Fiction. 9-11)"
Only readers who can tackle Marissa Moss's Amelia's Notebook (1995) and its sequels without eyestrain will be comfortable reading this hand-written, neon-colored monologue. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY FIRST KWANZAA by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2003

"A solid, sweet, and meaty choice for holiday reading. (Picture book. 2-5)"
With colorful collage and mixed-media illustrations alongside brief, yet informative text, Katz's latest offers youngsters an engaging introduction to the African-American holiday. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OVER THE MOON by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"As in Jamie Lee Curtis and Laura Cornell's Tell Me Again About the Night I Was Born (1996), both text and pictures are suffused with anticipation and joyful welcome at the baby's arrival. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A happy, colorful book about a man and woman dreaming of their soon-to-be-born adopted baby, receiving the news of her birth, and flying to the ``faraway place'' where they meet their child. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABY'S BIG BUSY BOOK by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"Little fingers will enjoy exploring these pages again and again. (Board book. 1-3)"
A day in Baby's life, with flaps, textures, sparkly bling, and mirrors to explore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROSIE GOES TO PRESCHOOL by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 7, 2015

"Rosie provides a delightful introduction to preschool that will soothe first-day worries. (Picture book. 2-5)"
An endearing guide shows young children what preschool will be like. Read full book review >