Search Results: "Karen Sung"


BOOK REVIEW

THE LANGUAGE OF HOUSES by Alison Lurie
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 19, 2014

"In clear, patient prose, the author encourages us to stop and think about what has been in front of us our entire lives."
A noted novelist (Truth and Consequences, 2006, etc.) returns with a generally genial but sometimes-slicing analysis of our buildings and their interior spaces. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE OPPOSITE ZOO by Il Sung Na
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 8, 2016

"A beautiful treatment of a familiar subject that repays close looking again and again. (Picture book. 2-4)"
In exploring the concept of opposites at a zoo in nighttime, Na also explores a looser look than in many of his earlier books. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KAREN ENGLISH
by Megan Labrise

The inspiration for Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English’s latest middle grade novel all comes down to one unforgettable quote.

“We had a housekeeper,” says English, who was born in 1954 and grew up in Los Angeles, “and she pulled me aside one day, when I was about nine, and told me that, if I ever went ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE LOVE by Sung J. Woo
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 8, 2015

"A writer of deep pathos and empathy, Woo (Everything Asian, 2009) has given us a deeply felt novel of parents and children, husbands and wives—the many ways we try to connect and fail; and how sometimes, somehow, we succeed."
As their father's body is ravaged by illness, two siblings try to recover from failed marriages and rebuild their lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HIDE & SEEK by Il Sung Na
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 8, 2012

"Ready or not! Here comes a book worth finding. (Picture book. 2-5) "
Expert hide-and-seekers will hear the hushed scuttles and feel the quickened pulses as a group of animals plays a rain forest game of hide-and-seek. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING ASIAN by Sung J. Woo
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2009

"A novel that both delights and instructs."
Cleverly concatenated stories about the experience of Korean immigrants make up Woo's loosely structured novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COUNTERFEIT SKIN by Yi-Sung Oliver Ho
Released: Sept. 6, 2012

"A rich collection of poetic images from a debut author."
Ho's debut collection of poems touches on the universal themes of childhood, the passage of time and memories of place. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELECTRICITY IN YOUR LIFE by Bo-hyun Seo
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2017

"Not quite the whole story, but a pleasant, tidy start. (Informational picture book. 5-7)"
A first look at what electricity does, where it comes from, and how to behave around it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BOOK OF BABIES by Il Sung Na
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"Sweet, stimulating illustrations offer up baby basics for bedtime. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Spring arrives, and a neighborly duck leaves his own nest of ducklings to greet new animal babies far and wide. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIRD, BALLOON, BEAR by Il Sung Na
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 14, 2017

"As simple and soft as a hug—and as reassuring. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Bird's new in the forest, and as much as he'd like to befriend Bear, he never quite gets up the courage to say hello. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAR LEADER by Jang Jin-sung
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 13, 2014

"An exciting escape closes this urgent, well-rendered attempt to penetrate North Korea's cynical, criminal power strategy."
A defector of Kim Jong-il's rarefied inner circle reveals the desperate, despicable machinations of North Korea's police state. Read full book review >