Search Results: "Karen Thompson Walker"


BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 26, 2012

"Riveting, heartbreaking, profoundly moving."
In Walker's stunning debut, a young California girl coming-of-age in a dystopian near future confronts the inevitability of change on the most personal level as life on earth withers. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KAREN ENGLISH
by Megan Labrise

The inspiration for Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English’s latest middle grade novel all comes down to one unforgettable quote.

“We had a housekeeper,” says English, who was born in 1954 and grew up in Los Angeles, “and she pulled me aside one day, when I was about nine, and told me that, if I ever went ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HURRY UP, ALFIE! by Anna Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 5, 2016

"Some days parents end up a crumpled heap on the floor—Alfie shows why! (Picture book. 3-6)"
A boisterous crocodile does not want to get dressed in the morning. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A SEASON IN SPAIN by Ann Walker
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 1992

"A compelling inducement to cook—or to book a flight to Spain. (Maps, line art.)"
Travelogue, cookbook, wine guide, diners' journal, and a sampling of annual festivals: Region by region and season by season (grape harvest, pruning, bud-break), the Walkers (he: a San Francisco food-and-wine writer; she: a caterer) trace their travels and recall with enthusiasm and style the friendly people, delicious food, memorable encounters, vineyards and cellars and wine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST NUMBERS by Rob Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Designed to prompt discussion, these poorly designed titles will only perplex. (Board book. 2-4)"
This busy board book mixes large numerals, photographs and counting questions to dubious effect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE MY MOM by Anna Walker
ANIMALS
Released: March 23, 2010

"A companion, I Love My Dad (ISBN: 978-1-4169-8319-4; April 2010), treats Ollie's relationship with his dad with a similarly light touch. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Ollie B., a gray-and-white striped creature with long ears and floppy legs, tells readers just how he and his mom spend time together. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPACE DUMPLINS by Craig Thompson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2015

"A weird and wonderful intergalactic tale. (Graphic science fiction. 7-12)"
In a galaxy far, far away, a young girl and her motley crew of friends fight to save her father and the solar system from a destructive fleet of space whales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLANKIES by Carol Thompson
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"The cozy experience of love within these pages is palpable. (Board book. 1-2)"
A hymn of praise to a variety of blankies and security objects. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 10, 2012

"A broadly appealing mix of the tragic and droll, comforting, disturbing, exotic and universal, with nary a clinker in the bunch. (glossary) (Short stories. 11-13)"
A big but consistently engaging pro bono anthology of authors with direct or indirect Japanese "heritage or experience." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FALLING ANGELS by Colin Thompson
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2001

"The story works on several levels, but it is the fascinating pictures that will have young readers and listeners asking to see it again and again. (Picture book. 5-9)"
A gentle fantasy about seeing with your heart as well as your eyes. Read full book review >