Search Results: "Karen White"


BOOK REVIEW

A LONG TIME GONE by Karen White
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 3, 2014

"A slow-moving mystery culminates in an emotionally satisfying moment of redemption for a stubborn heroine and the family she grows to love."
Vivien Walker comes to terms with her troubled past in this sweet Southern tale of the bond between mothers and daughters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TIME BETWEEN by Karen White
Released: June 4, 2013

"An appealing romance with intergenerational resonance."
Fourteen years after an accident left her sister Eve paralyzed and herself guilt-ridden, Eleanor Murray struggles to atone—not only for the accident, but also for falling in love with her brother-in-law, Glen. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STRANGERS ON MONTAGU STREET by Karen White
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"Additional ghost-sightings would be vastly more entertaining than the tepid romance subplot."
In the third of White's series starring psychic Realtor Melanie "Mellie" Middleton, Mellie copes with the warring ghostly denizens of another Charleston historic home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEA CHANGE by Karen White
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2012

"Although the narrative can be painfully slow, White skillfully juggles the deceptions that nurture the novel's enigmas, until the surprising truth emerges."
A new bride who moves to St. Simons, a Georgia barrier island, finds that she has deeper ties to her home than she ever suspected. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NIGHT THE LIGHTS WENT OUT by Karen White
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 11, 2017

"An atmospheric and entertaining look at the friends who keep your secrets—and the friends who keep you guessing until it's too late."
Secrets, scandals, and SUVs follow a single mother in White's (The Guests on South Battery, 2017, etc.) latest Southern mystery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTER THE RAIN by Karen White
Released: Dec. 31, 2012

"White (Sea Change, 2012, etc.) re-polishes her 2003 publication to good effect. This charming romance brims with appealing characters and captivating phrasing."
By the light of a crescent moon, Suzanne Paris spies through her bus window a opossum. Her eyes riveted, she wonders if the creature, like her, will simply wait for the next catastrophe. Or could she, for once, stop hiding. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FORGOTTEN ROOM by Karen White
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 19, 2016

"Focusing on both a family and a single location throughout time makes for a compelling and emotionally worthwhile novel."
Three generations of women find themselves on the cusp of love in a collaboration among bestselling authors White (The Sound of Glass, 2015, etc.), Williams (Tiny Little Thing, 2015, etc.), and Willig (The Lure of the Moonflower, 2015, etc.).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RETURN TO TRADD STREET by Karen White
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"More of the same from White and protagonist Mellie, which will please fans immensely."
Realtor and psychic Melanie Middleton is facing single motherhood in a haunted house she refuses to admit she loves, but it seems her pregnancy has awakened some malevolent feelings in at least one of the ghosts who shares her home. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES AND NEW DISCOVERIES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As I prepare for another year to roll in, I thought I’d share some of my favorite reads and new discoveries from 2016.

Some of you may know this has been a bit of a tumultuous year for me, but I was blessed to travel to a number of conferences, including RT, RWA, Chicago North’s Spring Fling, and ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

KAREN ENGLISH
by Megan Labrise

The inspiration for Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English’s latest middle grade novel all comes down to one unforgettable quote.

“We had a housekeeper,” says English, who was born in 1954 and grew up in Los Angeles, “and she pulled me aside one day, when I was about nine, and told me that, if I ever went ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A LEAGUE OF HER OWN
by Leila Roy

“I want you to do this because you genuinely want to play, not because—well, because you feel the weight of historical responsibility.”
“Can’t both be true?” Jill asked.
“I don’t know,” her mother said. “Can they?”
She sure hoped so.
A Season of Daring Greatly, by Ellen Emerson White

High school senior Jill Cafferty had ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHAT'S THAT, GIRL? TIMMY'S FALLEN DOWN A WELL?
by Leila Roy

I can’t seem to get away from abandoned wells lately. And boy oh boy, they TERRIFY me, both in story form and in real life. They’re so ubiquitous in Maine that growing up, my parents were ALWAYS warning me about them, and then, years later, The Ring didn’t assuage my fears any.

In adult life, we had one in ...


Read the full post >