Search Results: "Kat Beyer"


BOOK REVIEW

THE HALCYON BIRD by Kat Beyer
Released: Nov. 11, 2014

"Readers, like Mia herself, will find her birthright, human and supernatural—from risotto alla Milanese to the roof of the Duomo—as delicious as it is scary. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
Volume 2 of this classy series finds Mia still living in Italy under the protection and guidance of her extended family, learning the family trade (Della Torres have been trapping Milan's demons for centuries) while she gathers strength to confront the demon that once possessed her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 28, 2012

"This one goes to the head of the class. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
To the recent crop of strong debuts in an overcrowded literary arena add this series opener, a tale of demonic possession and a centuries-old family trade in exorcism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KARNAU TAPES by Marcel Beyer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 1997

"A good novel that might have been a much better one."
A powerful first novel suffering from weaknesses—winner of Germany's Ernst Willner Prize—describes the final days of WW II from two intriguingly blended viewpoints. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE FISH by Ramsey Beyer
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Despite its split personality, her story is easy to relate to and recommended for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Laura Lee Gulledge. (Graphic memoir. 13 & up)"
An autobiographical graphic pastiche recounts the author's experience of leaving her rural hometown and going to art school in a new city. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Casimir Bridge by Darren Beyer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 20, 2016

"Nefarious bigwigs, collusion, and galactic jumps against a cosmic backdrop; readers should definitely want to come back for more."
Interstellar travel is possible in the early 22nd century thanks to a much-desired element that one company controls and others will go to great lengths to take in this debut sci-fi adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

In Sheep's Clothing by L.D. Beyer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 2, 2015

"An intense political thriller that should attract House of Cards fans waiting for the next season."
In this tale of politics and betrayal, a Secret Service agent must do everything within his power to protect the president of the United States from forces that are conspiring to destroy him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AGONY by Mark Beyer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 22, 2016

"Gorgeously madcap and brutally inspiring."
Two misfits try to stay positive as they stumble through a series of outlandishly unfortunate events in this reissue of Beyer's (Amy and Jordan, 2004) alt-comic classic.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INLAND by Kat Rosenfield
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 12, 2014

"Unfortunately, both haphazard plotting and inadequate articulation of Callie's heritage make understanding the truth of her story difficult. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A move from Wyoming to the Gulf Coast improves Callie's debilitating asthma while also awakening a dark inner voice that lures her toward the open ocean, where her mother drowned years earlier. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WAY TO BEA by Kat Yeh
Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"Gets to the heart of middle school awkwardness like a sympathetic haiku. (Fiction. 9-13)"
Yeh (The Truth about Twinkie Pie, 2015) explores mazes, friendship, and individuality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ALCHEMY OF ILLNESS by Kat Duff
NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 1993

"Readers accustomed to more straightforward accounts may find Duff's musings difficult to accept; still, her insights into common attitudes toward illness, and into the changes wrought in an individual by illness, are often enlightening."
From the sickbed of a woman of ``mystical temperament'': very personal, sometimes quirky, essays on illness, blending 20th-century psychology with holistic spirituality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDER BY ANCIENT DESIGN by Kat Goldring
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 18, 2009

"Readers unimpressed by the improbable plot and ditzy heroine will still be kept guessing—or will stay confused—until the very end."
A Texas schoolteacher stumbles into a series of incidents as perilous as they are unlikely. Read full book review >