Search Results: "Kate DiCamillo"


BOOK REVIEW

FRANCINE POULET MEETS THE GHOST RACCOON by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2015

"New readers ready for a challenge and some laughs will welcome more characters from Deckawoo Drive. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Francine Poulet, the laconic and intrepid animal control officer of Gizzford County, is having a crisis of confidence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEROY NINKER SADDLES UP by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"Filled with love and kindness and glorious sweet-talk: 'Yippee-i-oh.' (Fiction. 6-9)"
Leroy Ninker dreams of being an honest-to-goodness cowboy as he watches Western movies while working at the concession stand at the drive-in theater. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 23, 2013

"There may be no new ground broken, but there is still another bumper crop of fun to be had with these two BFFs. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Fans of Bink and Gollie will be pleased to welcome them back in three more humorous linked adventures that, as in their earlier appearances, play off their differences but ultimately affirm their mutual affection. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2012

"Friendships can be tricky to navigate, but if youngsters find half of the joy and loyalty of this pair, they'll be set. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Winsome duo Bink and Gollie are back, this time zipping through a day at the state fair (Bink & Gollie, 2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAYMIE NIGHTINGALE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 12, 2016

"Once again, DiCamillo demonstrates the power of simple words in a beautiful and wise tale. (Historical fiction. 9-14)"
Ten-year-old Raymie Clarke of Lister, Florida, has a plan to get her father to come back home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MIRACULOUS JOURNEY OF EDWARD TULANE by Kate DiCamillo
ADVENTURE
Released: March 1, 2006

"Keep the tissues handy for this one. (Fiction. 7+)"
Once again, DiCamillo harkens back to an older storytelling style, filled with magic and the transformational power of love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2000

"A real gem. (Fiction. 9-12)"
A 10-year old girl learns to adjust to a strange town, makes some fascinating friends, and fills the empty space in her heart thanks to a big old stray dog in this lyrical, moving, and enchanting book by a fresh new voice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TIGER RISING by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2001

"Still, the tiger, 'burning bright' with magnificent, feral presence, does make an arresting central image. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Themes of freedom and responsibility twine between the lines of this short but heavy novel from the author of Because of Winn-Dixie (2000). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAGICIAN’S ELEPHANT by Kate DiCamillo
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"A quieter volume than The Tale of Despereaux (2003) and The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane (2006), this has an equal power to haunt readers long past the final page. (Fantasy. 8-13)"
Ten-year-old Peter Augustus Duchene goes to the market for fish and bread but spends it at the fortuneteller's tent instead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLORA & ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"Original, touching and oh-so-funny tale starring an endearingly implausible superhero and a not-so-cynical girl. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
When a cynical comic-book fanatic discovers her own superhero, life becomes wonderfully supercharged. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GREAT JOY by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2007

"This simple but powerful story will indeed bring the reader great joy. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Newbery Medalist DiCamillo is joined again by the illustrator of The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane (2005) in this moving story that offers the reader (or young listener) a treat: a story with an outwardly simple plot but with an inner core of meaning that is deeply satisfying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LA LA LA by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"For a dreamer, it's easy to imagine a singer in the benevolent face in the moon—here it's a symbol of hope. (Picture book. 5-adult)"
A lonely child's perseverance helps her find the unlikeliest of companions. Read full book review >