Search Results: "Katherine Gustafson"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 8, 2012

"Recommended for an informed, general audience intrigued by but perhaps just beginning to explore sustainability."
Amid numerous stories about the industrial-food complex and its pitfalls, freelance writer and change.org blogger Gustafson seeks examples of what "a better food system" would resemble, traveling across America to find alternatives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EDDIE by Scott Gustafson
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Aug. 23, 2011

"An inventive if not quite convincing introduction to the master of the macabre. (Historical mystery. 8-12)"
Accused of having stuffed a cat and a rooster into his pillowcase and hung it on a neighbor's weathervane, young Eddie Poe has only 24 hours to find the actual culprit before being thrashed by his adoptive father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASSIC STORYBOOK FABLES by Scott Gustafson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"The art may draw more attention than the stories, but it's agreeable fare for sharing on a lap. (source note) (Illustrated folk tales. 5-7)"
Eight familiar tales decked out in sumptuous visual finery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRISONERS OF FLIGHT by Sid Gustafson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2003

"An excruciatingly interior story: plot and activity quickly fade in the face of remembrance, regret, and recrimination in a carefully worked-out narrative that becomes suffocating after a while."
A lugubrious debut about the unhappy fate of four people stranded for the winter in a cabin in backwoods Montana. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 31, 2009

"Well-crafted and thought-provoking."
Intriguing examination of the life-and-death difference between morality and ethics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 6, 2012

"A useful, readable primer in a specialized but strategically important corner of geopolitics."
Peak oil's not just a capitalist conspiracy, and Vladimir Putin is vexed and peeved. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

INTO THE WILD WITH KATHERINE ROY
by Julie Danielson

Katherine Roy up and won a 2015 Robert F. Sibert Award Honor Book for her meticulously-researched Neighborhood Sharks (also named a Kirkus Best Children’s Book of 2014), which explored, just a few miles from San Francisco, the ocean’s largest predators. Not bad for the first book she both wrote and illustrated.

Now she’s back with How to Be an ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

PETER PAN by J.M. Barrie
CLASSICS
Released: Nov. 1, 1991

"A perfect gift for a family that reads aloud. (Fiction. 5+)"
An unusually large, attractive, unabridged edition with dozens of full-page illustrations and smaller vignettes. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KATHERINE ARDEN
by Rachel Sugar

From its very first pages, you’d have no idea that Katherine Arden’s sweeping historical fantasy is the author’s first novel. And you could be forgiven for expressing your shock (or envy or frustration) when you find out that in fact the wholly absorbing epic, rooted in Russian folklore, steeped in medieval Russian history, in fact began on a private whim ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

EXPLORING THE WILD WITH KATHERINE RUNDELL
by Julie Danielson

I do my best to temper excessive fan-dom, at least in public, over my favorite authors and illustrators, but the work of author and Oxford fellow Katherine Rundell simply makes me want to gush. Once I read The Wolf Wilder, published in 2015 (which I wrote about here), I was hooked and knew I wanted to backtrack and read the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

I CAN DO IT MYSELF! by Dana Regan
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 24, 2011

"A quick (the read-aloud section clocks in at just under two minutes) but, overall, satisfying read. (iPad storybook app. 3-5)"
A simple, rhyming text provides readers a glimpse of a confident little girl's routine at home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GARDEN TO TABLE by Katherine Hengel
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 20, 2014

"Budding gardeners who love to cook will find a treasure trove of information here. (glossary, index) (Nonfiction. 8-13)"
Hengel encourages middle-grade readers to grow and cook their own food. Read full book review >