Search Results: "Katherine Janus Kahn"


BOOK REVIEW

THE PRINCESS AND THE ZIZ by Jacqueline Jules
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Kahn's watercolor scenes, which feature a goofy, green-eyed bird with a bright yellow body and oversized red wings, drive the humor in this adequate tale. (Picture book. 4-10)"
Jules's fourth Ziz book continues her versions of Midrash stories featuring the giant bird of Jewish mythology. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A HOLIDAY FOR ARI ANT by Sylvia Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 6, 2016

"A nice addition to the holiday shelves. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-5)"
Ari Ant lives on the preschool playground and is eager to watch and participate in his own way with the children's activities and celebrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ZIZ AND THE HANUKKAH MIRACLE by Jacqueline Jules
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Jules incorporates the theme of sharing, as well as apologizing, in a droll version of a holiday tale. (Picture book. 4-6)"
The Ziz, a large, somewhat clumsy mythical bird, returns in a Hanukkah story offering an unlikely explanation for how one day's oil lasted eight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMMY SPIDER'S FIRST SIMCHAT TORAH by Sylvia A. Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"A candy-apple recipe completes the formulaic, if well-meaning, tale. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Sammy Spider, that curious arachnid who refuses to just spin webs, follows his boy companion Josh to a Simchat Torah service when he gets himself stuck on a syrupy candy apple atop a small Jewish flag. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMMY SPIDER'S NEW FRIEND by Sylvia A. Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"This is a book without conflict, and that's the last thing a child needs. (Picture book. 2-8)"
Sammy Spider is perfectly safe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TAMAR'S SUKKAH by Ellie B. Gellman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2015

"An acceptable update with a timeless message. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-5)"
A joint neighborhood effort brings collaboration and cooperation between a young child and her older friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Katherine by Lorin Hayes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 5, 2015

"Possesses the prerequisites for a solid mystery, but the protagonists are the true gems."
A psychiatrist and an attorney help a schizophrenic woman institutionalized for murder whose family seems suspiciously indifferent to her potential release in Hayes' debut thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KATHERINE by Anchee Min
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1995

"Lyrical prose with a distinct Chinese flavor makes Min's first novel—and its times—even more poignant and resonant."
From the author of last year's Red Azalea—a highly praised memoir of growing up during the Cultural Revolution—comes a bittersweet story as much about love as about the malignant legacy of Maoist China. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMMY SPIDER'S FIRST TASTE OF HANUKKAH by Sylvia A. Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 9, 2015

"A nice addition to the holiday collection. (Cookbook. 5-10)"
Sammy Spider and his human friend Josh return in a Hanukkah kid-oriented cookbook. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KILLING JANUS by Dave Gardner
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 22, 2006

"Gardner's vigorous, pulpy prose and well-wrought action scenes somewhat redeem his shameless wallowing in pornographic violence."
What's worse-a fiendish serial killer or a pitiless mercenary killer? Find out in this gore-splattered thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 23, 1993

In the tradition of Kinsey and Masters & Johnson—an exhaustive survey/interpretation of sex in America. Read full book review >