Search Results: "Katherine Janus Kahn"


BOOK REVIEW

SAMMY SPIDER'S NEW FRIEND by Sylvia A. Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"This is a book without conflict, and that's the last thing a child needs. (Picture book. 2-8)"
Sammy Spider is perfectly safe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TAMAR'S SUKKAH by Ellie B. Gellman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2015

"An acceptable update with a timeless message. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-5)"
A joint neighborhood effort brings collaboration and cooperation between a young child and her older friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMMY SPIDER'S FIRST TASTE OF HANUKKAH by Sylvia A. Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 9, 2015

"A nice addition to the holiday collection. (Cookbook. 5-10)"
Sammy Spider and his human friend Josh return in a Hanukkah kid-oriented cookbook. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PRINCESS AND THE ZIZ by Jacqueline Jules
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Kahn's watercolor scenes, which feature a goofy, green-eyed bird with a bright yellow body and oversized red wings, drive the humor in this adequate tale. (Picture book. 4-10)"
Jules's fourth Ziz book continues her versions of Midrash stories featuring the giant bird of Jewish mythology. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ZIZ AND THE HANUKKAH MIRACLE by Jacqueline Jules
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Jules incorporates the theme of sharing, as well as apologizing, in a droll version of a holiday tale. (Picture book. 4-6)"
The Ziz, a large, somewhat clumsy mythical bird, returns in a Hanukkah story offering an unlikely explanation for how one day's oil lasted eight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A HOLIDAY FOR ARI ANT by Sylvia Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 6, 2016

"A nice addition to the holiday shelves. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-5)"
Ari Ant lives on the preschool playground and is eager to watch and participate in his own way with the children's activities and celebrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMMY SPIDER'S FIRST SIMCHAT TORAH by Sylvia A. Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"A candy-apple recipe completes the formulaic, if well-meaning, tale. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Sammy Spider, that curious arachnid who refuses to just spin webs, follows his boy companion Josh to a Simchat Torah service when he gets himself stuck on a syrupy candy apple atop a small Jewish flag. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

INTO THE WILD WITH KATHERINE ROY
by Julie Danielson

Katherine Roy up and won a 2015 Robert F. Sibert Award Honor Book for her meticulously-researched Neighborhood Sharks (also named a Kirkus Best Children’s Book of 2014), which explored, just a few miles from San Francisco, the ocean’s largest predators. Not bad for the first book she both wrote and illustrated.

Now she’s back with How to Be an ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 23, 1993

In the tradition of Kinsey and Masters & Johnson—an exhaustive survey/interpretation of sex in America. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KATHERINE ARDEN
by Rachel Sugar

From its very first pages, you’d have no idea that Katherine Arden’s sweeping historical fantasy is the author’s first novel. And you could be forgiven for expressing your shock (or envy or frustration) when you find out that in fact the wholly absorbing epic, rooted in Russian folklore, steeped in medieval Russian history, in fact began on a private whim ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

EXPLORING THE WILD WITH KATHERINE RUNDELL
by Julie Danielson

I do my best to temper excessive fan-dom, at least in public, over my favorite authors and illustrators, but the work of author and Oxford fellow Katherine Rundell simply makes me want to gush. Once I read The Wolf Wilder, published in 2015 (which I wrote about here), I was hooked and knew I wanted to backtrack and read the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2011

"Paine would be proud, even if Kahn's small book likely reaches few readers beyond the already converted."
A well-intended, well-written effort to reclaim Thomas Paine from today's Tea Party. Read full book review >