Search Results: "Katherine Langrish"


BOOK REVIEW

TROLL MILL by Katherine Langrish
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

"Fans of the first volume will be happy to have this companion, while those new to the tale will be able to follow the story with ease. (Fiction. 9-12)"
In this sequel to Troll Fell (2004), a more mature Peer Ulfsson struggles with identity, disillusionment and unrequited love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TROLL FELL by Katherine Langrish
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2004

"Goodhearted, resourceful Peer's courage, loyalty to his friends, and generosity will win reader's hearts and will ensure the appeal to readers of Emily Rodda's Rowan of Rin series and the Lemony Snickets. (Fiction. 9-12)"
As his father's funeral pyre burns, Peer Ulfsson, to his horror, meets a step-uncle whom his father has never mentioned. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TROLL BLOOD by Katherine Langrish
ADVENTURE
Released: June 17, 2008

"Buy this quick and exciting novel for the fans—then recommend Nancy Farmer's Sea of Trolls (2004) and Joanne Harris's Runemarks (2008). (Fantasy. 10-13)"
Readers of the Trollsvik saga will realize from the first chapter (in which two Mi'kmaq Indians watch a Viking crew murder a man) that all will not go well when Peer and Hilde go a-Viking with Gunnar and his violent, quarrelsome son, Harald. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SHADOW HUNT by Katherine Langrish
ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2010

"Never telling and always showing, this spooky yet utterly grounded story features pitch-perfect prose, suspense and redemption. (Historical fantasy. 10-14)"
Langrish blends medieval Catholicism and old folk beliefs seamlessly with the supernatural. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Full of the eww factor, up-to-date facts and kid appeal, this splendid, gory introduction is not for the faint of heart! (Informational picture book. 7-10)"
Every fall, great white sharks return to feed on the seals and sea lions that migrate to the Farallon Islands just off the San Francisco coast, providing an opportunity for scientific study. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A PUFFIN’S YEAR by Katherine Zecca
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2007

Who can resist puffins with their large eyes, upright posture and bright orange beaks? Read full book review >

BLOG POST

INTO THE WILD WITH KATHERINE ROY
by Julie Danielson

Katherine Roy up and won a 2015 Robert F. Sibert Award Honor Book for her meticulously-researched Neighborhood Sharks (also named a Kirkus Best Children’s Book of 2014), which explored, just a few miles from San Francisco, the ocean’s largest predators. Not bad for the first book she both wrote and illustrated.

Now she’s back with How to Be an ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

KATHERINE ARDEN
by Rachel Sugar

From its very first pages, you’d have no idea that Katherine Arden’s sweeping historical fantasy is the author’s first novel. And you could be forgiven for expressing your shock (or envy or frustration) when you find out that in fact the wholly absorbing epic, rooted in Russian folklore, steeped in medieval Russian history, in fact began on a private whim ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

EXPLORING THE WILD WITH KATHERINE RUNDELL
by Julie Danielson

I do my best to temper excessive fan-dom, at least in public, over my favorite authors and illustrators, but the work of author and Oxford fellow Katherine Rundell simply makes me want to gush. Once I read The Wolf Wilder, published in 2015 (which I wrote about here), I was hooked and knew I wanted to backtrack and read the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE SQUISH RABBIT by Katherine Battersby
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2012

"A little humor that goes a long way toward conquering big fears. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Squish, a tiny rabbit, lives with towering fears: of storms, chickens and the dark. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SQUISH RABBIT by Katherine Battersby
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2011

"Minimal, moving and adorable, little Squish makes a big impression. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Squish Rabbit spends his little life overlooked, unheard and occasionally stepped on (thus, his name). He needs a friend. Read full book review >