Search Results: "Katherine Silver"


BOOK REVIEW

Katherine by Lorin Hayes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 5, 2015

"Possesses the prerequisites for a solid mystery, but the protagonists are the true gems."
A psychiatrist and an attorney help a schizophrenic woman institutionalized for murder whose family seems suspiciously indifferent to her potential release in Hayes' debut thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KATHERINE by Anchee Min
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1995

"Lyrical prose with a distinct Chinese flavor makes Min's first novel—and its times—even more poignant and resonant."
From the author of last year's Red Azalea—a highly praised memoir of growing up during the Cultural Revolution—comes a bittersweet story as much about love as about the malignant legacy of Maoist China. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILVER by Chris Wooding
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 25, 2014

"It's just all kinds of white-knuckle fun. (Horror. 12 & up)"
When strange insects assault a remote boarding school in England, the kids try to save the day in this tense page-turner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILVER by Rhiannon Held
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 5, 2012

"Certainly worth a try for existing lycanthrophiles."
Werewolves are threatened by a mysterious antagonist in Held's fantasy debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Makes the pirate world come alive, but purists may be put off by the author's rearrangement of details from the original story."
Chicago-based attorney Chupack expands the story of one of Robert Louis Stevenson's most memorable characters—Long John Silver—in this Treasure Island spinoff told from the pirate's perspective. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DANCER AND THE THIEF by Antonio Skármeta
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"A novel with a paradoxical combination of warmth and guile."
Chilean author Skármeta (The Postman, 1995, etc.) returns to post-dictatorship Santiago in this tale of beauty, crime and revenge. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 7, 2012

"Motion's plot wobbles as he casts his net wide to include slavery, but his ambition is admirable, as is his stylistic elegance."
The British critic/biographer and former Poet Laureate, in his spirited sequel to Stevenson's classic, Treasure Island, keeps the core of the original (the quest), while adding his own distinctive imprint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILVER by Talia Vance
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 8, 2012

"A quick read with some interesting fantasy elements, but the passive heroine and sometimes-confusing worldbuilding disappoint. (Fantasy. 13-16)"
Brianna Paxton has always suspected she is invisible to boys. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KATHERINE CARLYLE by Rupert Thomson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"A book that promises insight into the emotional detachment of our current technological overload should deliver more than the resolution of daddy issues."
A young woman sets out to find the isolation she craves in Thomson's (Secrecy, 2014, etc.) picaresque novel.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY TENDER MATADOR by Pedro Lemebel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2004

"A sharp account, suspenseful and nicely paced, that benefits from the unusual perspectives of innocent bystanders in this dirty game."
An odd-couple romance, in the tradition of Kiss of the Spider Woman or The Crying Game, between a Marxist revolutionary and drag queen. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PARADISE TRAVEL by Jorge Franco
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2006

"High-octane storytelling—sad and funny and real."
Colombian novelist Franco offers a nuanced account of the immigration experience in this story of an illegal immigrant lost in the bowels of New York City. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DINNER by César Aira
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"An outlandish but absorbing meditation on being alive among the dead."
Leave it to the avant-garde Aira (The Musical Brain, 2015, etc.) to combine a meditation on relevance with a full-on zombie apocalypse.Read full book review >