Search Results: "Katherine Silver"


BOOK REVIEW

DINNER by César Aira
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"An outlandish but absorbing meditation on being alive among the dead."
Leave it to the avant-garde Aira (The Musical Brain, 2015, etc.) to combine a meditation on relevance with a full-on zombie apocalypse.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITERATURE CLASS, BERKELEY 1980 by Julio Cortázar
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: March 28, 2017

"It's great to have these insights from the author himself about his writings, but it's a bumpy ride for all but a small, scholarly audience."
A collection about the art of fiction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY TENDER MATADOR by Pedro Lemebel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2004

"A sharp account, suspenseful and nicely paced, that benefits from the unusual perspectives of innocent bystanders in this dirty game."
An odd-couple romance, in the tradition of Kiss of the Spider Woman or The Crying Game, between a Marxist revolutionary and drag queen. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DANCER AND THE THIEF by Antonio Skármeta
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"A novel with a paradoxical combination of warmth and guile."
Chilean author Skármeta (The Postman, 1995, etc.) returns to post-dictatorship Santiago in this tale of beauty, crime and revenge. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MONGOLIAN CONSPIRACY by Rafael Bernal
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 25, 2013

"In the tradition of the classic detective novel, a fun and action-filled read."
A new translation of a 1960s Mexican noir novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PARADISE TRAVEL by Jorge Franco
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2006

"High-octane storytelling—sad and funny and real."
Colombian novelist Franco offers a nuanced account of the immigration experience in this story of an illegal immigrant lost in the bowels of New York City. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DREAM OF MY RETURN by Horacio Castellanos Moya
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 10, 2015

"Moya has written a tight little novel that is wickedly witty and built on the idea of memory as a never-ending cause of inspiration and turmoil."
An exquisitely wry novel that builds on the infinite variations of anxiety as narrative force. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE END OF LOVE by Marcos Giralt Torrente
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 15, 2013

"Stories of love at its least sentimental and most richly, maddeningly inscrutable."
A stellar collection of stories about the mysteries of love as it ebbs and flows, from a well-regarded Spanish novelist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROFESSOR BORGES by Jorge Luis Borges
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: May 23, 2013

"A sobering, even startling, view of an academic world that has fundamentally altered and softened in the last half-century."
Edited and translated transcripts of recordings of a university class in English literature taught in the fall of 1966 by the celebrated Argentinian author. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KATHERINE ARDEN
by Rachel Sugar

From its very first pages, you’d have no idea that Katherine Arden’s sweeping historical fantasy is the author’s first novel. And you could be forgiven for expressing your shock (or envy or frustration) when you find out that in fact the wholly absorbing epic, rooted in Russian folklore, steeped in medieval Russian history, in fact began on a private whim ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

START YOUR READING YEAR OFF RIGHT WITH JANUARY'S BEST SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY BOOKS
by John DeNardo

Another year of reading begins! What better way to start it off than with books that will stretch your imagination? This month's selection of the best science fiction and fantasy reads offers sword and sorcery, eldritch horrors, a richly-imagined forest world, deals with the Devil in the Old West, espionage across parallel worlds, and a 25th Century whodunit ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SEVEN IMPOSSIBLY GOOD BITS OF BOOK NEWS
by Julie Danielson

Is the news getting you down? Are you experiencing a bit of a summer slump? (Here in the South anyway we are halfway done with summer break.) Or just ennui in general? I’ll be the first to raise my hand and answer my own questions: yes to all of the above!

When this happens, I like to think about the ...


Read the full post >