Search Results: "Kathleen Hills"


BOOK REVIEW

THE KINGDOM WHERE NOBODY DIES by Kathleen Hills
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"Hills (Witch Cradle, 2006, etc.) slowly builds an enthralling portrait of life in a 1950s farming community. A distinctive and welcome addition to the genre."
A newcomer to a rural Minnesota community is shot dead while raking hay. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Krazy Kathleen by William Tellem
Released: Feb. 10, 2016

"A lighthearted ode to books featuring eye-catching, funny pictures of an eccentric character."
A children's librarian who keeps everything in seemingly random piles teaches local residents a lesson in this tale by Tellem (Zen the Zebra, 2015, etc.), featuring illustrations by Coules. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KATHLEEN, PLEASE COME HOME by Scott O'Dell
FICTION
Released: March 1, 1978

"Of course this sort of material has an enduring fascination for daydreaming stay-at-homes."
The diary of a runaway girl, whose dismal experiences are attributed largely to "going along" with a bad companion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHADOW HILLS by Anastasia Hopcus
FANTASY
Released: July 13, 2010

"An adolescent-seeming effort that may well please many adolescents, which is fine. (Paranormal romance. YA)"
This hefty supernatural debut thriller has many elements of commercial success but few of the literary kind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOLE HILLS by Jeanie Herold
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 20, 2013

"A readable but occasionally awkward set of starter poems."
A heartfelt debut collection of poetry and photography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOLLYWOOD HILLS by Joseph Wambaugh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 16, 2010

"Though everything takes forever to happen, the laughs are authentic, and a couple of endearing heroes emerge. A middling entry in this waggish series."
Wambaugh's Hollywood trilogy (Hollywood Moon, 2009, etc.) sprouts a fourth volume, another offbeat mix of broadly satirical comedy and a cast of cops apparently waiting for a procedural that never kicks in. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK HILLS by Dan Simmons
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2010

"There are rewards here, but Simmons (Drood, 2009, etc.) buries an appealing protagonist and an intriguing story under the crushing weight of a tome."
At Little Big Horn, Custer's ghost enters the body of an 11-year-old American Indian and commingles there for close to 500 pages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUSHKIN HILLS by Sergei Dovlatov
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 11, 2014

"A black comedy of eyes-wide-open excess in the vein of Frederick Exley's A Fan's Notes or David Gates' Jernigan. And a fine rumination on being Russian, besides."
Soviet émigré Dovlatov died in New York in 1990, and since then, his reputation in America, bolstered late in life by the New Yorker and by fans, including Kurt Vonnegut, has faded. With luck, that reputation will be restored and enhanced by the first English publication (with a lively, playful translation by his daughter Katherine) of this brief, fabulous, partly autobiographical 1983 novel.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TIGER HILLS by Sarita Mandanna
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 9, 2011

"Beautiful prose and delicate handling prevent this melodrama from becoming maudlin."
Star-crossed lovers in India at the turn of the 20th century, drawn from first-time novelist Mandanna's family history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 29, 2006

"Generally uneven—at its best, this recalls Jill Ker Conway's Road from Coorain; at its worst, a school theme paper."
Memories of family, single parenthood and sheep in the remote wilds of Wales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONOR TO THE HILLS by Eileen Charbonneau
FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 1996

"As the family has settled at Stony Clove, so has Charbonneau's writing matured, making poetry of the glances between lovers and kin, bonding spiritual elements with realistic ones in the atmospheric mountain setting. (Fiction. 12+)"
Now patriarch of a loud and loving Catskills clan, Asher Woods is back—and so is the ghost of Sally Hamilton—in this stunning third novel in the saga that began with The Ghosts of Stony Clove (1988). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 6, 1991

"A valuable, well-informed contribution to the legal view of Native American history, despite necessary doubts about the author's impartiality, as when the relationship between his father and the Sioux went sour."
A provocative, complex reexamination of the trail of broken promises marking historical relations between the US and the once- mighty Sioux nation, and the book debut of attorney/historian Lazarus, whose father met with substantial success after representing tribal interests in the federal judiciary for 20-odd years. Read full book review >