Search Results: "Kathryn Miles"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 8, 2013

"The author's solid research and use of newly available material exposes the truth of the Potato Famine, the barbaric policies that exacerbated it and the incredible will of the Irish people."
Miles (Environmental Writing/Unity Coll.) builds her story around the Jeanie Johnston, the only ship fleeing the Irish Potato Famine with a 100 percent survival rate in its many Atlantic crossings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

QUAKELAND by Kathryn Miles
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"Occasionally long-winded but readable and engaging—not to mention eye-opening, as the author delivers a firm warning to policymakers as well as individual citizens."
A wide-ranging account of earthquakes, the least understood of natural disasters, with vivid stories of the havoc they create and a warning about what will someday happen in the United States. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUPERSTORM by Kathryn Miles
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 16, 2014

"A rogue storm dazzlingly caught in all its unprecedented bizarreness."
The strange and devastating life of Hurricane Sandy receives a fine, grim telling from Miles (English/Chatham Univ.; All Standing: The Remarkable Story of the Jeanie Johnston, The Legendary Irish Famine Ship, 2013, etc.).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ETERNITY  by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Fun to be sure, but also a case where shorter might have been sweeter—and more suspenseful. (Horror. 12 & up)"
An overall satisfying conclusion to a tale that imagines the Furies as three beautiful but terrifying supernatural sisters who thrive on vengeance against teens who they feel have done wrong. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ENVY by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"The Furies make pleasingly vicious villains; horror fans won't want to miss this second in a planned trilogy. (Horror. 12-18)"
The Furies from Greek mythology return to terrorize high school students in this heart-pounding follow-up to 2011's Fury. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: May 1, 2011

"Fans of Ellen Wittlinger and Gary Soto will be pleased to find them included in this edgy anthology for teens who dare to face the sometimes-ugly truths of life. (Short stories. 12 & up)"
Truth-telling can be dangerous, as anyone knows who's traveled the angst-filled terrain of adolescence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIDEO VENGEANCE by Miles Tripp
Released: Jan. 15, 1990

The most devious, cinematic mind in all of mysterydom is at it again, now with a tale so twisty that London private-eye John Samson (The Cords of Vanity, etc.) has to resolve it several times before the truth will out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 1997

"Haunting and thrilling, this is a beautifully told story of violence and courage, and an unforgettable look behind the yellow crime-scene tape. (Regional author tour)"
A summer spent in the trenches with detectives from the LAPD. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDER IN RETIREMENT by John Miles
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 17, 1994

"Though the confusion of staged and real mysteries seems falsely promising early on, this turns out to be no different from dozens of other staged-murder-turned-real scenarios."
Everybody who worked with him, and quite a few people who didn't, would've loved to see J. Turner Redwine dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2004

"As always from Desai: an intelligent and freshly tooled retelling of an old story."
True love contends with treachery in high places in this last of a trilogy (Isolde, 2002, etc.) about the fraught lives of Tristan, noble knight, and Isolde, Queen of Ireland. Read full book review >