Search Results: "Kathy Duval"


BOOK REVIEW

A BEAR'S YEAR by Kathy Duval
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"A slow, soft read-aloud, good for bedtime or when Bear Snores On is too rowdy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In short rhyming text, a mother bear and her cubs experience a year of changing seasons until it's time to hibernate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TAKE ME TO YOUR BBQ by Kathy Duval
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 12, 2013

"The knee-slapping humor, retro feel of the illustrations and the included recipe for Willy's special sauce serve up some spicy preschool fun. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Many people boast that their barbecue is out of this world, but Willy's fine-smelling and lip-smacking meal attracts visitors from outer space. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE THREE BEARS’ HALLOWEEN by Kathy Duval
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2007

"A good addition to fairy-tale and Halloween collections. (Picture book. 3-8)"
The three bears get a trick from Goldilocks in this Halloween treat. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE THREE BEARS’ CHRISTMAS by Kathy Duval
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2005

"Preschool teachers will want to add this holiday version of 'The Three Bears' to their repertoire of 'just-right' tales for holiday story times. (Picture book. 2-6)"
It's Christmas Eve at the house of the Three Bears in their little cabin in the woods. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 21, 2012

"An entertaining story with religious overtones and a vivid sense of good and evil."
First-time author Johnson's multicolored, rhyming, free-associating story for teens centers on a loyal girl gang's encounter with an evil schoolmate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Kathy, Wait For Me! by Morelle Forster
Released: Oct. 12, 2015

"A well-crafted coming-of-age novel that skillfully chronicles the trials of a lonely orphan who joins a street gang."
Forster tells the story of a girl's tumultuous life in London in this YA debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A PLACE FOR KATHY by Henry Denker
Released: May 1, 1997

"Sad stuff in a thin telling."
In Denker's popular novels (To Marcy, With Love, 1996, etc.), where bad things happen to good-to-saintly people, there's often a dollop of medical matter; here, in the story of a widow and mother confronting AIDS, there's a good deal of powerful information concerning the disease. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SEARCH FOR KATE DUVAL by Jr. Edwards
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"One-dimensional characters and sketchy plotting make for a deeply flawed love story, although the prevailing mood of catastrophic midlife crisis seems genuine enough."
A winter-summer relationship ends tragically, leaving the older man grieving in his beloved's snowbound trailer, feeding carrots to her horse and reading her family history: an awkard near-parody by the respected author of Peggy SaltÇ (1983). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A CHILD OF RAPE by John duVal
Released: Jan. 15, 2011

"A rollicking, complex read.
"
A densely plotted, gay coming-of-age novel starring the talented Erik, whose lengthy history is half hard-boiled Jim Thompson mayhem and half Martha Grimes youthful fantasia, heavily laden with crime, war (both international and domestic), alcoholism and, ultimately, personal triumph. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 2011

"Achieves the neat trick of presenting moral values in a persuasive and uplifting way without being preachy or boring.
"
In this novel by a 9/11 survivor, chance plays a major role in the lives of two best friends—but character plays an even bigger one. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REAR VIEW by Pete Duval
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 28, 2004

"Still, an impressive start for this Bakeless Prize winner (2003) with a lean, efficient style and an understanding of the brutality of life on the economic margins."
Twelve stories, many set in New Bedford, in the tradition of Andre Dubus and Raymond Carver, illuminate the lives of working-class people with moments of rare beauty. Read full book review >