Search Results: "Katie Davies"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Dec. 1, 1995

"But Davies's many fans will find themselves well sated by the portraiture, the detail, and the richness shared here. (32 pages b&w photos)"
An amiable, discursive ramble through the several lives of Canada's octogenarian novelist. ``Sometimes I quake and grow pale, for it looks as if the Twilight Years, when I ought to be growing roses and sucking my dentures in peace, are going to be passed in back-breaking toil,'' once quipped the then 64-year-old author. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLYAWAY KATIE by Polly Dunbar
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2004

"Exuberant, to say the least. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A joyous cure for a case of the doldrums. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT DOG DISASTER by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 7, 2013

"Characteristically funny, this concludes a British series that has been a breath of fresh middle-grade air. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Intrepid 9-year-olds Anna and Suzanne tackle their latest pet challenge with customary ingenuity, elaborate plans and lists, and allies old (Mr. Tucker and Mrs. Rotherham) and young (Anna's cookie-loving brother, Tom). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT HAMSTER MASSACRE by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2011

"An auspicious debut, with a sequel (The Great Rabbit Rescue) waiting in the wings. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Ivy and Bean will enjoy meeting their counterparts across the Pond: best friends and next-door neighbors Anna and Suzanne. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT RABBIT RESCUE by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 6, 2011

"A welcome return for the indomitable Anna. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Barely pausing from their labors, recounted in The Great Hamster Massacre (2011), Anna and Suzanne return to sow more mayhem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 4, 2011

"Though frankly evangelical, Davis' book is still a refreshing read for those seeking the inspiration to follow the stirrings of their own hearts."
This moving debut memoir tells Davis' story of moving to Uganda and founding Amazima ministries, a nonprofit organization dedicated to bettering the lives of underprivileged children. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KATIE AND THE DINOSAURS by James Mayhew
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 1992

"The plot's predictable if ever-popular, while Mayhew's creatures are appealingly anthropomorphized and set in a lush landscape, skillfully rendered in sepia line and glowing watercolors. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Leaving Grandma, who scorns dinosaurs, drowsing on a museum bench, Katie slips through a forbidden door for a prehistoric adventure: she helps lost baby Hadrosaurus find his parents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 1, 1990

"A grab bag, but a good one, suitable for browsing while waiting for Davies' next novel."
The slightly revised (and first American) edition of the 1979 Canadian collection of journalistic essays, reviews, columns, and character profiles from the esteemed novelist (The Lyre of Orpheus, 1988, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT CAT CONSPIRACY by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"The subtle pathos that underlies the lighthearted humor throughout this series is prominent here; the astringent, sobering ending leaves readers with questions to ponder. (Fiction. 8-12)"
In their latest adventure, enterprising 9-year-olds Anna and Suzanne tackle dictatorship (parental veto on removing the walls separating their homes), animal disappearances (cats and the vicar's prized koi), clutter (Dad's) and hoarding (the Cat Lady's). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MR. DAVIES AND THE BABY by Charlotte Voake
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1996

"Readers will want to take Mr. D. for a walk anytime; Voake would be wise to unleash him again soon. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Mr. Davies, a spry little terrier, decides to go along with his neighbor, a young mother, when she takes her baby for a stroll. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 1, 1978

"A bedside book, perhaps, but only for those fully prepared to doze off and dream not at all."
After-dinner speeches, commencement-day speeches, some humor, and a few lectures by the Canadian novelist-playwright-scholar. Read full book review >