Search Results: "Katie Davies"


BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT DOG DISASTER by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 7, 2013

"Characteristically funny, this concludes a British series that has been a breath of fresh middle-grade air. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Intrepid 9-year-olds Anna and Suzanne tackle their latest pet challenge with customary ingenuity, elaborate plans and lists, and allies old (Mr. Tucker and Mrs. Rotherham) and young (Anna's cookie-loving brother, Tom). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT HAMSTER MASSACRE by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2011

"An auspicious debut, with a sequel (The Great Rabbit Rescue) waiting in the wings. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Ivy and Bean will enjoy meeting their counterparts across the Pond: best friends and next-door neighbors Anna and Suzanne. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT RABBIT RESCUE by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 6, 2011

"A welcome return for the indomitable Anna. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Barely pausing from their labors, recounted in The Great Hamster Massacre (2011), Anna and Suzanne return to sow more mayhem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT CAT CONSPIRACY by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"The subtle pathos that underlies the lighthearted humor throughout this series is prominent here; the astringent, sobering ending leaves readers with questions to ponder. (Fiction. 8-12)"
In their latest adventure, enterprising 9-year-olds Anna and Suzanne tackle dictatorship (parental veto on removing the walls separating their homes), animal disappearances (cats and the vicar's prized koi), clutter (Dad's) and hoarding (the Cat Lady's). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN DRAWS TROUBLE by Matt Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 7, 2015

"Funny and exuberantly sweet. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Ben Lukin, the bike-loving boy from Ben Rides On (2013), loses something of special significance: his sketchbook.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELI, NO! by Katie Kirk
by Katie Kirk, illustrated by Katie Kirk
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Adult readers might want to suggest his family be in touch with the BadDog Trainers whose card appears on the opening spread; children will simply enjoy the havoc. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Geometric shapes, matte colors and few words tell the story of a beloved but not entirely trained pup. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS PRINCESS EVER AFTER by Katie O'Neill
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"Combine a cuddly purple dragon, much sharing of cookies, abundant humor, and two distinct and appealing heroines, and you have a royal winner. (Graphic fantasy. 8-13)"
Someday your princess will come—and she'll be rocking a mohawk-mullet, wearing a jaunty tunic complete with epaulets and cravat, and riding a disdainful pink unicorn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVE MARSHMALLOW by Katie Saunders
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 3, 2015

"Well-done new sibling books are always welcome, and this one is as cozy as being swaddled. (Picture book.2-4)"
Another new-baby story joins the cribfull of titles told from the big-sibling angle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OTTO THE BOOK BEAR by Katie Cleminson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 31, 2012

"Book creatures of all ages will love Otto and will enjoy wondering if any other of their books' characters have a secret life. A delight. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Otto usually lives as an illustration of a book, but when no one is looking, he comes to life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PARTY ANIMALS by Katie Davis
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Although bursting with color, but not much ingenuity, this is a useful aid for those teaching numbers and colors, and a charming work with a jolly tone that will keep small children engaged. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Here lies the key to making counting festive: tally the guests at a barnyard bash. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCARED STIFF by Katie Davis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"Zany perspectives, asides in balloons, images bleeding out of their frames, colors electric enough to make your teeth sing—but a story line with enough holes in it to drain spaghetti. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Davis's (Who Hoots?, not reviewed, etc.) story has a bad case of the fidgets, which won't go far in curing any youngster's willies, but if nothing else, maybe the ants it drops in the pants of its readers will take their mind off their groundless fears. Read full book review >