Search Results: "Katie Davies"


BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT DOG DISASTER by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 7, 2013

"Characteristically funny, this concludes a British series that has been a breath of fresh middle-grade air. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Intrepid 9-year-olds Anna and Suzanne tackle their latest pet challenge with customary ingenuity, elaborate plans and lists, and allies old (Mr. Tucker and Mrs. Rotherham) and young (Anna's cookie-loving brother, Tom). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT HAMSTER MASSACRE by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2011

"An auspicious debut, with a sequel (The Great Rabbit Rescue) waiting in the wings. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Ivy and Bean will enjoy meeting their counterparts across the Pond: best friends and next-door neighbors Anna and Suzanne. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT RABBIT RESCUE by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 6, 2011

"A welcome return for the indomitable Anna. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Barely pausing from their labors, recounted in The Great Hamster Massacre (2011), Anna and Suzanne return to sow more mayhem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT CAT CONSPIRACY by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"The subtle pathos that underlies the lighthearted humor throughout this series is prominent here; the astringent, sobering ending leaves readers with questions to ponder. (Fiction. 8-12)"
In their latest adventure, enterprising 9-year-olds Anna and Suzanne tackle dictatorship (parental veto on removing the walls separating their homes), animal disappearances (cats and the vicar's prized koi), clutter (Dad's) and hoarding (the Cat Lady's). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELI, NO! by Katie Kirk
by Katie Kirk, illustrated by Katie Kirk
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Adult readers might want to suggest his family be in touch with the BadDog Trainers whose card appears on the opening spread; children will simply enjoy the havoc. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Geometric shapes, matte colors and few words tell the story of a beloved but not entirely trained pup. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN DRAWS TROUBLE by Matt Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 7, 2015

"Funny and exuberantly sweet. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Ben Lukin, the bike-loving boy from Ben Rides On (2013), loses something of special significance: his sketchbook.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS PRINCESS EVER AFTER by Katie O'Neill
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"Combine a cuddly purple dragon, much sharing of cookies, abundant humor, and two distinct and appealing heroines, and you have a royal winner. (Graphic fantasy. 8-13)"
Someday your princess will come—and she'll be rocking a mohawk-mullet, wearing a jaunty tunic complete with epaulets and cravat, and riding a disdainful pink unicorn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 2013

"A new and moving look at one of the most disgraceful events in U.S. history, effectively told with childlike surrealism. (Picture book. 6-10)"
Based on her great-grandfather's experience in a Japanese "internment camp," Yamasaki tells how Taro takes care of his younger brother, Jimmy, when he stops eating. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAGIC BOX by Katie Cleminson
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 23, 2009

"A little odd and more than a little engaging. (Picture book. 4-7)"
With a keen understanding of the truth that the box a present comes in is often the best part of the gift, Cleminson makes a lively story with winsome illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KINDERGARTEN ROCKS! by Katie Davis
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2005

"Told from a kid's perspective, this is bound to boost confidence at facing fears and is a terrific tool for those setting off on the elementary track. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Young Dexter Dugan is just days away from starting kindergarten and his stuffed dog, Rufus, is a teensy bit scared. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MABEL THE TOOTH FAIRY AND HOW SHE GOT HER JOB by Katie Davis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"Sandwiched between endpaper galleries of celebrity teeth, this sidesplitting dental romance will have young readers showing their own pearly whites in laughter. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Poor Mabel: having discovered the hard way that even fairies have to brush and floss, she sets out to assemble a new set of choppers from children's castoffs. Read full book review >