Search Results: "Katie Davies"


BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT DOG DISASTER by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 7, 2013

"Characteristically funny, this concludes a British series that has been a breath of fresh middle-grade air. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Intrepid 9-year-olds Anna and Suzanne tackle their latest pet challenge with customary ingenuity, elaborate plans and lists, and allies old (Mr. Tucker and Mrs. Rotherham) and young (Anna's cookie-loving brother, Tom). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT HAMSTER MASSACRE by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2011

"An auspicious debut, with a sequel (The Great Rabbit Rescue) waiting in the wings. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Ivy and Bean will enjoy meeting their counterparts across the Pond: best friends and next-door neighbors Anna and Suzanne. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT RABBIT RESCUE by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 6, 2011

"A welcome return for the indomitable Anna. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Barely pausing from their labors, recounted in The Great Hamster Massacre (2011), Anna and Suzanne return to sow more mayhem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT CAT CONSPIRACY by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"The subtle pathos that underlies the lighthearted humor throughout this series is prominent here; the astringent, sobering ending leaves readers with questions to ponder. (Fiction. 8-12)"
In their latest adventure, enterprising 9-year-olds Anna and Suzanne tackle dictatorship (parental veto on removing the walls separating their homes), animal disappearances (cats and the vicar's prized koi), clutter (Dad's) and hoarding (the Cat Lady's). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

AMERICA! CUSS YEAH!
by Mandy Wan

BOOK REPORT for Learning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy

Cover Story: Sparse and Simple
BFF Charm: Big Sister
Swoonworthy Scale:
3
Talky Talk: Research and Russian
Bonus Factors:
Culture Shock, Child Prodigy, Reverse Ferris, Sarcastic Older Brother
Relationship Status: Just Friends

Cover Story: Sparse and Simple

Even though I don't find this to be out-of-this-world fantastic—it's ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

KATIE KITAMURA
by Megan Labrise

In titling her latest novel, Katie Kitamura fittingly forwent the certainty of a definite article.

“ ‘The Separation’ would refer to the split between the two characters,” says Kitamura, author of A Separation, the story of a wife’s international pursuit of her estranged husband, “but I think it is about a divide within the narrator, between the different versions ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SPINNING WHEEL GOT TO GO ROUND
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for What Goes Up by Katie Kennedy

Cover Story: Upside Down
BFF Charm: Single White Female
Swoonworthy Scale: 3
Talky Talk: Science Fiction
Bonus Factors: Alternate Dimensions, Coach Taylor Award
Relationship Status: One and Done

Cover Story: Upside Down

Excuse me, Mr. Astronaut, but you might want to mosey North a little. I know how gravity works, and ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN DRAWS TROUBLE by Matt Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 7, 2015

"Funny and exuberantly sweet. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Ben Lukin, the bike-loving boy from Ben Rides On (2013), loses something of special significance: his sketchbook.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIZZY BEAR, LET'S GET TO WORK! by Benji Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2012

"Bury the excessive exclamation points and focus on the visual details to salvage this dig. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
Bizzy Bear knows how to get the job done. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS PRINCESS EVER AFTER by Katie O'Neill
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"Combine a cuddly purple dragon, much sharing of cookies, abundant humor, and two distinct and appealing heroines, and you have a royal winner. (Graphic fantasy. 8-13)"
Someday your princess will come—and she'll be rocking a mohawk-mullet, wearing a jaunty tunic complete with epaulets and cravat, and riding a disdainful pink unicorn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVE MARSHMALLOW by Katie Saunders
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 3, 2015

"Well-done new sibling books are always welcome, and this one is as cozy as being swaddled. (Picture book.2-4)"
Another new-baby story joins the cribfull of titles told from the big-sibling angle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OTTO THE BOOK BEAR by Katie Cleminson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 31, 2012

"Book creatures of all ages will love Otto and will enjoy wondering if any other of their books' characters have a secret life. A delight. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Otto usually lives as an illustration of a book, but when no one is looking, he comes to life. Read full book review >