Search Results: "Kaylie Jones"


BOOK REVIEW

LIES MY MOTHER NEVER TOLD ME by Kaylie Jones
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"There are a few intriguing tidbits about her father's social and professional circle—which included Norman Mailer, Irwin Shaw and Kurt Vonnegut—but most of the narrative is remarkable only for its rancor."
The daughter of celebrated novelist James Jones weighs in with a loving portrait of her father—and a savage one of her alcoholic, caustic mother. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LONG ISLAND NOIR by Kaylie Jones
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 15, 2012

"The best of these tales are perceptive glimpses into how people live out the choices they make. The worst are pointless recitations of one disaster after the other. No one escapes unscathed, but some wounds are redemptive; others just bleed."
Longtime Long Islander Jones has collected a volume of 17 new stories as diverse as the massive island itself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CELESTE ASCENDING by Kaylie Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 14, 2000

"An uncompelling riff on overcoming some hard knocks in time to find wisdom."
A transparently redemptive tale in which a troubled young woman, reared in the suburbs, is overwhelmed by a past filled with the requisite tragedies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

QUITE THE OTHER WAY by Kaylie Jones
Released: March 24, 1989

A hard-cover debut for the author, daughter of novelist James Jones: a portrait of contemporary Russia, as seen through the eyes of an American student, that's carefully, even evocatively written—but that ultimately fails due to the narrowness of its narrator. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ANGER MERIDIAN by Kaylie Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 7, 2015

"A fast-paced story of a woman who only stops lying to others once she stops lying to herself."
Merryn Huntley flees the scene of a tragedy but must confront long-hidden truths. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THROUGH KENNY'S EYES by Carol Jones
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 7, 2014

"Often meandering but emotionally rich nonetheless."
In this debut memoir, a husband and wife explore the unexpected spiritual opportunities that follow a terminal cancer diagnosis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ORANGE, TRIANGLE, FOX by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"What this and its companion lack in clarity of concepts, they make up for in character. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
An exploration of colors, shapes and animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

READY FOR WEATHER by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2016

"A plainspoken and effective introduction to the spectrum of weather patterns, with color identification as a bonus. (Board book. 1-2)"
Little readers learn the value of dressing properly for various weather conditions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO KITTY SUMMERTIME FUN by Frankie Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2015

"A cute, serviceable game. (Board book. 2-3)"
The iconic white cat enjoys the summer season. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHO WANTS BROCCOLI? by Val Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 16, 2015

"Readers longing for a lid to their own pots, or with similarly challenging behaviors, will find comfort in Broccoli's tale. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The tricks that make a dog unadoptable in some people's eyes are just the ticket home for Broccoli. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HICKORY DICKORY DOCK by Carol Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1992

"A first purchase. (Folklore/Picture book. 3-8)"
Just 11 of the most familiar rhymes, each spread over four pages with a strategically placed peephole in the middle leaf. Read full book review >