Search Results: "Keith Badman"


BOOK REVIEW

MARILYN MONROE by Keith Badman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 17, 2012

"Badman doesn't so much reveal new information about Monroe as recycle the old into something tawdry and depressing."
A tedious exposé of Marilyn Monroe's last days commemorates the 50th anniversary of her death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SECOND BANANA by Keith Graves
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2015

"Take this off the shelf to share with primary-grade students who are navigating the ever changing landscape of friendship. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Under the big top, the show must go on, but the relationship between a spotlight-grabbing monkey and the amiable gorilla that assists him is ripe for a change. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"Despite the profusion of nonfiction titles on every aspect of the animal world, there is only one other title in print specifically about animal names: Pam Muñoz Ryan's A Pinky Is a Baby Mouse (1997). (Picture book/nonfiction. 2-8)"
What do a woolly monkey, a blue-tongued skink, and a zebra butterfly have in common? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POTATO JOE by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2008

"Spunky spuds with appeal. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Lively potatoes frisk and frolic across the page in this lighthearted counting book that expands on the familiar rhyme, "One potato, two potato." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ORPHAN OF AWKWARD FALLS by Keith Graves
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"Unfortunate Events galore, served with relish. (finished illustrations not seen) (Melodrama. 11-13)"
The creator of such picture books as Frank Was a Monster Who Wanted to Dance (1999) and Three Nasty Gnarlies (2003) dishes up a first novel seasoned with the same delightfully twisted, ghoulish sensibility. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST HOW LONG CAN A LONG STRING BE? by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2009

"Another winner for the pattern-book list. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Little Ant's exclamatory question allows Bird to produce a list of long and short ideas handily crafted from a ball of white string. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHICKEN BIG by Keith Graves
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"For all kids who know they are really smarter than the grown-ups. (Picture book. 5-8)"
"On a teeny little farm, in an itty-bitty coop, a very small hen laid a big, humongous egg"—and, of course, out of that egg hatches a big, humongous chick. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETIMES by Keith Baker
by Keith Baker, illustrated by Keith Baker
Released: March 1, 1999

"The engaging pictures and familiar experiences are a gratifying combination. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Emerging readers follow the adventures of a busy crocodile in this Level 1 entry in a promising series (see McPhail, below). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET MR. AND MRS. GREEN by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"Though the Greens' relationship doesn't have the effervescence of, say, Frog and Toad's, or George and Martha's, children will enjoy following the rotund reptiles through their mini-adventures, and through the bright and snappy, simply drawn cartoon scenes. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Replete with greens and grins, these three episodes introduce a pair of sunny tempered alligators—one with a taste for adventure, the other with a taste for chocolate, pancakes, and cherry snowcones. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAT TRICKS by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"In all, an illustrator's tour de force, and a great stimulus to a child's visual imagination. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Fans of Baker's Hide and Snake (1991) will be happy to encounter this new book of catchy verse and tricky pictures in an intense purple, green, blue, and gold palette, used to depict cats, shoes, hats, clocks, patterned fabrics, and extravagant textures of all kinds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LMNO PEA-QUEL  by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 4, 2017

"Perhaps these peas have simply pea-tered out. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Baker's industrious pea-ple are back for a fifth tour, this time delivering an A-to-Z look at work and play. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOUGH GUYS HAVE FEELINGS TOO by Keith Negley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"Though it doesn't exactly topple stereotypes or delve deep into questions of gender identity, Negley's debut is nonetheless sincere. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The title says it all. Read full book review >