Search Results: "Keith Baker"


BOOK REVIEW

KEITH by Stanley Booth
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 28, 1995

"Still, a welcome addition to the growing library of Stones- related tomes. (10 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
A prose meditation on Rolling Stone Keith Richards by a man who entered the Stones' inner sanctum as a journalist in the late '60s and subsequently became the guitarist's friend and confidante. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KEITH HARING by Kay Haring
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2017

"This sanitized treatment does a disservice to both subject and readers. (author's note, index of art works) (Picture book/biography. 4-8)"
Artist Keith Haring draws and draws, from childhood to adulthood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAP-PEA ALL YEAR by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2016

"An infectious, pea-sized romp. (Picture book. 2-8)"
Having conquered the alphabet (LMNO Peas, 2010), numbers (1-2-3 Peas, 2012), and colors (Little Green Peas: A Big Book of Colors, 2014), Baker's goofy spherical seeds return to revel in the seasons and holidays in this book of months. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

1-2-3 PEAS by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 24, 2012

"Whether they're counting scores of peas, enjoying the rhymes and puns or relishing the funny visual quirks, families are sure to devour Baker's latest winner. Totally ap-pea-ling! (Picture book. 3-7)"
After an alphabetical, rhyming tour de force (LMNO Peas, 2010), Baker's energetic pea pack is back—this time, to count by ones and 10s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG FAT HEN by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1994

"Still, the art is gorgeous. (Picture book. 2-7)"
In vibrant full-bleed spreads, a boldly graphic rendition of ``1, 2, buckle my shoe,'' with the numbers from 1 to 10 enacted by the ``big fat hen'' and her friends and their hatching chicks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LMNO PEA-QUEL  by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 4, 2017

"Perhaps these peas have simply pea-tered out. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Baker's industrious pea-ple are back for a fifth tour, this time delivering an A-to-Z look at work and play. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST HOW LONG CAN A LONG STRING BE? by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2009

"Another winner for the pattern-book list. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Little Ant's exclamatory question allows Bird to produce a list of long and short ideas handily crafted from a ball of white string. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POTATO JOE by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2008

"Spunky spuds with appeal. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Lively potatoes frisk and frolic across the page in this lighthearted counting book that expands on the familiar rhyme, "One potato, two potato." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET MR. AND MRS. GREEN by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"Though the Greens' relationship doesn't have the effervescence of, say, Frog and Toad's, or George and Martha's, children will enjoy following the rotund reptiles through their mini-adventures, and through the bright and snappy, simply drawn cartoon scenes. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Replete with greens and grins, these three episodes introduce a pair of sunny tempered alligators—one with a taste for adventure, the other with a taste for chocolate, pancakes, and cherry snowcones. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETIMES by Keith Baker
by Keith Baker, illustrated by Keith Baker
Released: March 1, 1999

"The engaging pictures and familiar experiences are a gratifying combination. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Emerging readers follow the adventures of a busy crocodile in this Level 1 entry in a promising series (see McPhail, below). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAT TRICKS by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"In all, an illustrator's tour de force, and a great stimulus to a child's visual imagination. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Fans of Baker's Hide and Snake (1991) will be happy to encounter this new book of catchy verse and tricky pictures in an intense purple, green, blue, and gold palette, used to depict cats, shoes, hats, clocks, patterned fabrics, and extravagant textures of all kinds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY OCTOPUS ARMS by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"Though a little on the bland side, this effort should reassure little ones resting in the human arms of favorite story readers. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Who hasn't occasionally wished for more than two hands (or arms) in order to simultaneously accomplish all that one needs to? Read full book review >