Search Results: "Keith Baker"


BOOK REVIEW

KEITH by Stanley Booth
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 28, 1995

"Still, a welcome addition to the growing library of Stones- related tomes. (10 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
A prose meditation on Rolling Stone Keith Richards by a man who entered the Stones' inner sanctum as a journalist in the late '60s and subsequently became the guitarist's friend and confidante. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KEITH HARING by Kay Haring
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2017

"This sanitized treatment does a disservice to both subject and readers. (author's note, index of art works) (Picture book/biography. 4-8)"
Artist Keith Haring draws and draws, from childhood to adulthood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LMNO PEA-QUEL  by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 4, 2017

"Perhaps these peas have simply pea-tered out. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Baker's industrious pea-ple are back for a fifth tour, this time delivering an A-to-Z look at work and play. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST HOW LONG CAN A LONG STRING BE? by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2009

"Another winner for the pattern-book list. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Little Ant's exclamatory question allows Bird to produce a list of long and short ideas handily crafted from a ball of white string. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POTATO JOE by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2008

"Spunky spuds with appeal. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Lively potatoes frisk and frolic across the page in this lighthearted counting book that expands on the familiar rhyme, "One potato, two potato." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET MR. AND MRS. GREEN by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"Though the Greens' relationship doesn't have the effervescence of, say, Frog and Toad's, or George and Martha's, children will enjoy following the rotund reptiles through their mini-adventures, and through the bright and snappy, simply drawn cartoon scenes. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Replete with greens and grins, these three episodes introduce a pair of sunny tempered alligators—one with a taste for adventure, the other with a taste for chocolate, pancakes, and cherry snowcones. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETIMES by Keith Baker
by Keith Baker, illustrated by Keith Baker
Released: March 1, 1999

"The engaging pictures and familiar experiences are a gratifying combination. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Emerging readers follow the adventures of a busy crocodile in this Level 1 entry in a promising series (see McPhail, below). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAT TRICKS by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"In all, an illustrator's tour de force, and a great stimulus to a child's visual imagination. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Fans of Baker's Hide and Snake (1991) will be happy to encounter this new book of catchy verse and tricky pictures in an intense purple, green, blue, and gold palette, used to depict cats, shoes, hats, clocks, patterned fabrics, and extravagant textures of all kinds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY OCTOPUS ARMS by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"Though a little on the bland side, this effort should reassure little ones resting in the human arms of favorite story readers. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Who hasn't occasionally wished for more than two hands (or arms) in order to simultaneously accomplish all that one needs to? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HICKORY DICKORY DOCK by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2007

"A great addition to the collection of 'singing' books, with the added bonus of helping readers practice counting and time-telling skills. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The familiar nursery rhyme gains new verses in this latest from Baker, who rounds out the rest of the mouse's busy hours. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MORE MR. AND MRS. GREEN by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2004

The big-hearted alligators introduced in Meet Mr. and Mrs. Green (2002, but reformatted as an easy reader, too) return for three more feel-good episodes. Mr. Green catches fish after fish, leaving Mrs. Green "frustrated and fishless" until he shares his secret bait: jellybeans. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

QUACK AND COUNT by Keith Baker
Released: Aug. 1, 1999

"Children will regretfully wave goodbye as the ducks fly off in neat formation at the end of this brief, painless introduction to several basic math concepts. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Baker (Big Fat Hen, 1994, etc.) engages in more number play, posing ducklings in every combination of groups, e.g., "Splashing as they leap and dive/7 ducklings, 2 plus 5." Read full book review >