Search Results: "Keith Baker"


BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE GREEN PEAS by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 22, 2014

"Sweet—but alas, not a three-pea-t. (Picture book. 3-7)"
After tackling the alphabet and numbers in two previous excursions (LMNO Peas, 2013; 1-2-3 Peas, 2012), Baker's winsome legumes return for a third ap-pea-rance, exploring nine colors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAMPING by Keith Baker
by Keith Baker, illustrated by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 7, 2012

"Engaging, sitcom-style humor based on personality differences and securely attuned to the intended audience. (Early reader. 4-6)"
A practical alligator and her more excitable husband plan a camping trip in this slightly reformatted chapter taken from Meet Mr. and Mrs. Green (2002). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LMNO PEAS by Keith Baker
Kirkus Star
by Keith Baker, illustrated by Keith Baker
ABC BOOKS
Released: April 5, 2010

"Peas out. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A passel of industrious peas narrates inventive, alphabetically arranged avocations: "We are peas—alphabet peas! / We work and play in the ABCs." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INHERITANCE by Keith Baker
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 5, 1998

"Richly evocative of late-1990s Ireland, but too many corpses—and bad guys'support an unduly intricate plot."
Grimly atmospheric sins-of-the-father first novel set in Northern Ireland of 2017, where, despite 1998's official end to the Troubles, nothing much has changed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POTATO JOE by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2008

"Spunky spuds with appeal. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Lively potatoes frisk and frolic across the page in this lighthearted counting book that expands on the familiar rhyme, "One potato, two potato." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST HOW LONG CAN A LONG STRING BE? by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2009

"Another winner for the pattern-book list. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Little Ant's exclamatory question allows Bird to produce a list of long and short ideas handily crafted from a ball of white string. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETIMES by Keith Baker
by Keith Baker, illustrated by Keith Baker
Released: March 1, 1999

"The engaging pictures and familiar experiences are a gratifying combination. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Emerging readers follow the adventures of a busy crocodile in this Level 1 entry in a promising series (see McPhail, below). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET MR. AND MRS. GREEN by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"Though the Greens' relationship doesn't have the effervescence of, say, Frog and Toad's, or George and Martha's, children will enjoy following the rotund reptiles through their mini-adventures, and through the bright and snappy, simply drawn cartoon scenes. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Replete with greens and grins, these three episodes introduce a pair of sunny tempered alligators—one with a taste for adventure, the other with a taste for chocolate, pancakes, and cherry snowcones. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAT TRICKS by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"In all, an illustrator's tour de force, and a great stimulus to a child's visual imagination. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Fans of Baker's Hide and Snake (1991) will be happy to encounter this new book of catchy verse and tricky pictures in an intense purple, green, blue, and gold palette, used to depict cats, shoes, hats, clocks, patterned fabrics, and extravagant textures of all kinds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LMNO PEA-QUEL  by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 4, 2017

"Perhaps these peas have simply pea-tered out. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Baker's industrious pea-ple are back for a fifth tour, this time delivering an A-to-Z look at work and play. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY OCTOPUS ARMS by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"Though a little on the bland side, this effort should reassure little ones resting in the human arms of favorite story readers. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Who hasn't occasionally wished for more than two hands (or arms) in order to simultaneously accomplish all that one needs to? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HICKORY DICKORY DOCK by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2007

"A great addition to the collection of 'singing' books, with the added bonus of helping readers practice counting and time-telling skills. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The familiar nursery rhyme gains new verses in this latest from Baker, who rounds out the rest of the mouse's busy hours. Read full book review >