Search Results: "Keith Gray"


BOOK REVIEW

LOSING IT by Keith Gray
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"This is a fresh, smart collection with a can't-lose subject. (Short stories. 14 & up)"
The "it" in question is likely just what those noticing the title will expect in this beautifully varied collection of 10 short stories about teens losing their virginity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OSTRICH BOYS by Keith Gray
FICTION
Released: March 23, 2010

"Display this attitudinal British import between Don Calame's gleefully gross Swim the Fly (2009) and Melvin Burgess's Doing It (2003). (Fiction. 13 & up)"
Three 15-year-old English boys use the distraction of a road trip to avoid dealing with their best friend's suicide. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CREEPERS by Keith Gray
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 13, 1997

"Despite the involving characters and setting, Gray doesn't convey the significance of creeping convincingly, thereby rendering the events of the story none too compelling. (Fiction. 10-12)"
A young boy discovers self-confidence and endures the loss of his best friend in Gray's uneven debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FEARFUL by Keith Gray
ADVENTURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2008

"Altogether, an unusual and entertaining read. (Fantasy. 11 & up)"
Fifteen-year-old Tim will become the Mourner next week. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

AMELIA GRAY
by Rachel Sugar

If you know anything about Isadora Duncan, it is likely you know this: she was a modern dancer—not just any modern dancer, but the mother of modern dance—and she died, spectacularly, when her silk scarf (hand painted) caught in the wheel of an open automobile.

“When I tell people about Isadora,” says Amelia Gray, whose latest novel — titled ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WE ARE MORE THAN MACHINES
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Defy the Stars (Defy the Stars #1) by Claudia Gray

Cover Story: Trippy ‘Splosion
BFF Charm: Heck Yes
Swoonworthy Scale: 7
Talky Talk: Boy (Robot) Meets Girl
Bonus Factors: Space Colonies, Unlikely Team
Relationship Status: Stowaway

Cover Story: Trippy ‘Splosion

I feel like this book should have come with special 3D-like glasses that make the title ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SUMMER, SUPERHEROES AND SUPERSTARS
by Bobbi Dumas

Everyone seen Wonder Woman yet? Yes? Good!

(No? Don’t tell me, just go see it.)

There have been so many great reviews written about this movie that I don’t need to pile anything on. (There’ve also been some awful reviews written about the movie, rebutted by some movie reviewers in articles worth reading, for anyone interested in such things. I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

STEADFAST by Claudia Gray
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 4, 2014

"The eternal conflict between ends and means keeps the tension taut and the plot humming. Stay tuned. (Paranormal romance. 13 & up)"
All's not well in Captive's Sound; the ancient evil Nadia and friends believed they'd vanquished has not only survived, their efforts have made it stronger than ever (Spellcaster, 2013). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A THOUSAND PIECES OF YOU by Claudia Gray
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"This trilogy opener offers solid entertainment for readers willing to go with the fictional flow. (Science fiction. 12-18)"
A girl and her two possible heartthrobs travel across parallel universes to avenge her father's murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STAY WITH ME by Mila Gray
Released: Nov. 29, 2016

"Pure wish fulfillment for readers seeking steamy escapism. (Fiction. 16 & up)"
Forbidden love cures all in Gray's latest, following Come Back to Me (2015). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

10 MEN by Alexandra Gray
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2005

"Brittle wit turns to sentimental taffy by the end."
An unnamed woman delineates her life in terms of her involvement with ten archetypal men. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"Makes a discomfiting case that Western liberal democracy just is not suitable for much of the world."
Seeing history as a progressive narrative, especially one with a utopian ending, is a practice that has doomed earlier civilizations and threatens our own, argues Gray (European Thought/London School of Economics). Read full book review >