Search Results: "Kelli London"


BOOK REVIEW

REALITY CHECK by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 1, 2013

"A fizzy and warmhearted take on teen stardom, but readers will have to work hard to suspend their disbelief. (Fiction. 12-16)"
The uneven follow-up to Charly's Epic Fiascos (2012) shows determined and headstrong Charly trying to balance her newfound star status with her roots and responsibilities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STAR POWER by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 30, 2013

"A fast-moving, upbeat mystery for readers willing to ignore major plot holes. (Mystery. 12-16)"
Teen reality TV star Charly and her co-star Liam head to the tiny town of Tallulahville, Minn., to make over an unwilling nerd but discover the mission is more complex than they'd realized. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOYFRIEND SEASON by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2011

"Even with a few false steps, the relatively complex relationships and refreshing variety of teen voices will engage readers. (Urban fiction. 12-16)"
In loosely connected, overlapping stories, three African-American teen girls in Atlanta navigate relationships with family, community and the boys and men in their lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHARLY'S EPIC FIASCOS by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 28, 2012

"Just enough realism to be believable—and plenty of wish fulfillment, too. (Fiction. 12-16)"
A rough-around-the-edges road-trip story with a heart of gold. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UPTOWN DREAMS by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"A light read for teens who love performing arts... and the other kind of drama. (Fiction. 12-16)"
An uneven narrative follows four aspiring young artists attending the Harlem Academy of Creative and Performing Arts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BREAK-UP DIARIES by Ni-Ni Simone
FICTION
Released: May 1, 2011

"Fun, if heavy-handed. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Lessons, frenemies and posturing abound in this pair of novelette-length bittersweet romances featuring African-American teens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DAY WITH MONSTER by Kelli Gleiner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2014

"Nothing flashy or overly ambitious, this small board book starring an odd-looking little monster is a quirky way to introduce little ones to the concept of a daily routine and its constituent parts. (Board book. 1-3)"
See what Monster's day is like, from his morning stretch till he returns to his bed at the end of a long day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CURSE-MAKER by Kelli Stanley
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Stanley's debut novel, supplemented by a glossary and a lengthy explanation of curse-making, captures the details and rhythms of daily life in the ancient empire. The whodunit often takes a backseat to the subtle and interesting interactions of his characters."
In ancient Rome, a vacationing physician turns reluctant sleuth to save his family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOX DORMIENDA by Kelli Stanley
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 18, 2008

"First-timer Stanley is sure-footed and enthusiastic about history (as witness her glossary and bibliography) and crafts a satisfyingly intricate puzzle, but her prose could be leaner and her dialogue less ornate. First of a proposed series."
In ancient Londinium, the governor's physician becomes a reluctant sleuth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLEEPY TOES by Kelli McNeil
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 28, 2017

"Slightly padded covers and board pages make this a sturdy, albeit optimistic, choice for establishing bedtime routines. (Board book. 1-3)"
A good-night tour of body parts for the mildly sleep-resistant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"Honest and occasionally vexing, this will have special appeal to teens and their parents."
Stirringly candid portraits of more than 20 teens, interspersed with commentary, reminiscences, and diary entries from Pratt's teen years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY OF DRAGONS by Kelli Stanley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2010

"The proposed series kickoff, awash in period flavor, showcases a large and colorful supporting cast. Sometimes Stanley (Nox Dormienda, 2008, etc.) seems too enamored of her settings and her neo-noir voice, but for fans of Hammett and Chandler, she'll hit the sweet spot."
A hard-boiled Frisco detective stands alone in seeking the truth. Read full book review >