Search Results: "Kelli Nidey"


BOOK REVIEW

WHEN AUTUMN FALLS by Kelli Nidey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"Elementary teachers could use this as a springboard to a discussion on the many different meanings of the same word. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Lots of things are falling in this salute to autumn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHARLY'S EPIC FIASCOS by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 28, 2012

"Just enough realism to be believable—and plenty of wish fulfillment, too. (Fiction. 12-16)"
A rough-around-the-edges road-trip story with a heart of gold. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLEEPY TOES by Kelli McNeil
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 28, 2017

"Slightly padded covers and board pages make this a sturdy, albeit optimistic, choice for establishing bedtime routines. (Board book. 1-3)"
A good-night tour of body parts for the mildly sleep-resistant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"Honest and occasionally vexing, this will have special appeal to teens and their parents."
Stirringly candid portraits of more than 20 teens, interspersed with commentary, reminiscences, and diary entries from Pratt's teen years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DAY WITH MONSTER by Kelli Gleiner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2014

"Nothing flashy or overly ambitious, this small board book starring an odd-looking little monster is a quirky way to introduce little ones to the concept of a daily routine and its constituent parts. (Board book. 1-3)"
See what Monster's day is like, from his morning stretch till he returns to his bed at the end of a long day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REALITY CHECK by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 1, 2013

"A fizzy and warmhearted take on teen stardom, but readers will have to work hard to suspend their disbelief. (Fiction. 12-16)"
The uneven follow-up to Charly's Epic Fiascos (2012) shows determined and headstrong Charly trying to balance her newfound star status with her roots and responsibilities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STAR POWER by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 30, 2013

"A fast-moving, upbeat mystery for readers willing to ignore major plot holes. (Mystery. 12-16)"
Teen reality TV star Charly and her co-star Liam head to the tiny town of Tallulahville, Minn., to make over an unwilling nerd but discover the mission is more complex than they'd realized. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOYFRIEND SEASON by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2011

"Even with a few false steps, the relatively complex relationships and refreshing variety of teen voices will engage readers. (Urban fiction. 12-16)"
In loosely connected, overlapping stories, three African-American teen girls in Atlanta navigate relationships with family, community and the boys and men in their lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY OF SECRETS by Kelli Stanley
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"Stanley's brittle prose and period touches effectively capture the feeling of '40s noir, even if the somber tone seems forced at times."
Frisco is rocked by a brutal serial killer with a raw streak of anti-Semitism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY OF DRAGONS by Kelli Stanley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2010

"The proposed series kickoff, awash in period flavor, showcases a large and colorful supporting cast. Sometimes Stanley (Nox Dormienda, 2008, etc.) seems too enamored of her settings and her neo-noir voice, but for fans of Hammett and Chandler, she'll hit the sweet spot."
A hard-boiled Frisco detective stands alone in seeking the truth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GIRL WHO WROTE IN SILK by Kelli Estes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 7, 2015

"Though there are a few unnecessary coincidences, Estes' debut is a pleasing blend of historical fiction and contemporary drama."
In a house on Orcas Island, the stories of two young women unfold: a 19th-century Chinese-American and a recent college graduate trying to piece together a mystery left behind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIVING INTO THE MYSTERY by Kelli Summers Sorg
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Oct. 13, 2014

"A gentle, understatedly wise collection of reflections on issues of modern Christian faith."
An award-winning television producer and pastor collects letters she's sent to spiritual inquirers far and wide. Read full book review >