Search Results: "Kelli Stanley"


BOOK REVIEW

THE CURSE-MAKER by Kelli Stanley
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Stanley's debut novel, supplemented by a glossary and a lengthy explanation of curse-making, captures the details and rhythms of daily life in the ancient empire. The whodunit often takes a backseat to the subtle and interesting interactions of his characters."
In ancient Rome, a vacationing physician turns reluctant sleuth to save his family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOX DORMIENDA by Kelli Stanley
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 18, 2008

"First-timer Stanley is sure-footed and enthusiastic about history (as witness her glossary and bibliography) and crafts a satisfyingly intricate puzzle, but her prose could be leaner and her dialogue less ornate. First of a proposed series."
In ancient Londinium, the governor's physician becomes a reluctant sleuth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY OF SECRETS by Kelli Stanley
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"Stanley's brittle prose and period touches effectively capture the feeling of '40s noir, even if the somber tone seems forced at times."
Frisco is rocked by a brutal serial killer with a raw streak of anti-Semitism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY OF DRAGONS by Kelli Stanley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2010

"The proposed series kickoff, awash in period flavor, showcases a large and colorful supporting cast. Sometimes Stanley (Nox Dormienda, 2008, etc.) seems too enamored of her settings and her neo-noir voice, but for fans of Hammett and Chandler, she'll hit the sweet spot."
A hard-boiled Frisco detective stands alone in seeking the truth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STANLEY AT SCHOOL by Linda Bailey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2015

"Here's hoping readers feel the same way about school as Stanley does; even if they don't, though, they are sure to laugh at the dogs' adventures. Where will they end up next? (Picture book. 4-8)"
Stanley's curiosity this time leads him to find out what all the kids do in school every day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STANLEY THE FARMER by William Bee
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"Steady and bright, this will appeal to toddlers looking for comfort, not thrills. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A cartoonlike hamster named Stanley and two other small mammals demonstrate the steps used to plant, maintain and harvest wheat at a typical commercial farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STANLEY THE BUILDER by William Bee
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"Nonetheless, little listeners are sure to come back to Stanley over and over, as he explores jobs and uses equipment sure to pique their interest. (Picture book. 2-6)"
In Bee's new series, Stanley the hamster explores jobs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STANLEY KUBRICK by Vincent LoBrutto
NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 30, 1996

"A brave, and often successful, attempt to chronicle the life of a filmmaker famous for his noncooperation with chroniclers."
American cinema's least Hollywood-like director never quite emerges from the shadows in this biography, but many useful career details do. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STANLEY PARK by Timothy Taylor
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2001

"Still, the reader is plunged right into the steamy excitement of a great restaurant going at full throttle, creating a serious craving, say, for Jeremy's grilled lime-marinated sockeye salmon."
An uneven but tasty debut about a Vancouver chef who turns guerrilla prankster while trying to reconnect with his slightly mad anthropologist father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STANLEY GOES FISHING by Craig Frazier
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2006

"A visual conundrum that accentuates the 'art' of looking at the world in different ways. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Meet Stanley, a fellow who sees things differently, as in his two previous stories, Stanley Goes for a Drive (2005) and Stanley Mows the Lawn (2004). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SUMMER OF STANLEY by Natalie Kinsey-Warnock
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1997

"The real star of this competent but predictable book is Gates's marvelously detailed and luminous art; it hardly evokes 1945, but does bring to glowing, bucolic life a gentler—though war-torn—time. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Kinsey-Warnock (Sweet Memories Still, 1997, etc.) sets her story in 1945 when Molly's father is off fighting in the war and she, her mother, brother Tyler, and grandfather keep the home fires burning and the Victory Garden growing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STANLEY, CALIFORNIA by Sheila Evans
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Arlene might find a sense of home again, but she does it without much feeling of resolution."
Evans's second (after Maggie's Rags, not reviewed) is a bit like Cheever's story "The Swimmer," with less of the emotional trauma and essential mystery. Read full book review >