Search Results: "Kelli Stanley"


BOOK REVIEW

THE CURSE-MAKER by Kelli Stanley
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Stanley's debut novel, supplemented by a glossary and a lengthy explanation of curse-making, captures the details and rhythms of daily life in the ancient empire. The whodunit often takes a backseat to the subtle and interesting interactions of his characters."
In ancient Rome, a vacationing physician turns reluctant sleuth to save his family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOX DORMIENDA by Kelli Stanley
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 18, 2008

"First-timer Stanley is sure-footed and enthusiastic about history (as witness her glossary and bibliography) and crafts a satisfyingly intricate puzzle, but her prose could be leaner and her dialogue less ornate. First of a proposed series."
In ancient Londinium, the governor's physician becomes a reluctant sleuth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY OF DRAGONS by Kelli Stanley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2010

"The proposed series kickoff, awash in period flavor, showcases a large and colorful supporting cast. Sometimes Stanley (Nox Dormienda, 2008, etc.) seems too enamored of her settings and her neo-noir voice, but for fans of Hammett and Chandler, she'll hit the sweet spot."
A hard-boiled Frisco detective stands alone in seeking the truth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY OF SECRETS by Kelli Stanley
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"Stanley's brittle prose and period touches effectively capture the feeling of '40s noir, even if the somber tone seems forced at times."
Frisco is rocked by a brutal serial killer with a raw streak of anti-Semitism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHARLY'S EPIC FIASCOS by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 28, 2012

"Just enough realism to be believable—and plenty of wish fulfillment, too. (Fiction. 12-16)"
A rough-around-the-edges road-trip story with a heart of gold. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UPTOWN DREAMS by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"A light read for teens who love performing arts... and the other kind of drama. (Fiction. 12-16)"
An uneven narrative follows four aspiring young artists attending the Harlem Academy of Creative and Performing Arts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DAY WITH MONSTER by Kelli Gleiner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2014

"Nothing flashy or overly ambitious, this small board book starring an odd-looking little monster is a quirky way to introduce little ones to the concept of a daily routine and its constituent parts. (Board book. 1-3)"
See what Monster's day is like, from his morning stretch till he returns to his bed at the end of a long day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLEEPY TOES by Kelli McNeil
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 28, 2017

"Slightly padded covers and board pages make this a sturdy, albeit optimistic, choice for establishing bedtime routines. (Board book. 1-3)"
A good-night tour of body parts for the mildly sleep-resistant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REALITY CHECK by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 1, 2013

"A fizzy and warmhearted take on teen stardom, but readers will have to work hard to suspend their disbelief. (Fiction. 12-16)"
The uneven follow-up to Charly's Epic Fiascos (2012) shows determined and headstrong Charly trying to balance her newfound star status with her roots and responsibilities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STAR POWER by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 30, 2013

"A fast-moving, upbeat mystery for readers willing to ignore major plot holes. (Mystery. 12-16)"
Teen reality TV star Charly and her co-star Liam head to the tiny town of Tallulahville, Minn., to make over an unwilling nerd but discover the mission is more complex than they'd realized. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOYFRIEND SEASON by Kelli London
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 1, 2011

"Even with a few false steps, the relatively complex relationships and refreshing variety of teen voices will engage readers. (Urban fiction. 12-16)"
In loosely connected, overlapping stories, three African-American teen girls in Atlanta navigate relationships with family, community and the boys and men in their lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GIRL WHO WROTE IN SILK by Kelli Estes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 7, 2015

"Though there are a few unnecessary coincidences, Estes' debut is a pleasing blend of historical fiction and contemporary drama."
In a house on Orcas Island, the stories of two young women unfold: a 19th-century Chinese-American and a recent college graduate trying to piece together a mystery left behind. Read full book review >