Search Results: "Kelly Easton"


BOOK REVIEW

TO BE MONA by Kelly Easton
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Nov. 25, 2008

Sage Priestly can't tell anyone about her mother's dramatically erratic behavior. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CANARIES AND CRIMINALS by Kelly Easton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Staffed with likable, quirky characters and driven by issues both serious and not-so, this will leave young readers hoping for more visits to Aaron's animal-friendly world. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In a winningly oddball sequel to Trouble at Betts Pets (2002), a turtle with a map painted on its back holds the key to a series of mysterious encounters and break-ins at a pet store in a downtrodden neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTERSHOCK by Kelly Easton
ADVENTURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2006

"Characterizations become blurred, and readers will flip the pages quickly to get to the good stuff. (Fiction. YA)"
Prince William-like pretty boy Adam survives the grisly car accident that kills both of his parents during the return leg of a cross-country excursion from Rhode Island to Oregon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHITE MAGIC by Kelly Easton
FANTASY
Released: Aug. 14, 2007

"And while it seems that nothing much happens, the ending manages to be both satisfying and believable: Easton's characters grow and change—just like in real life. (Fiction. 12-16)"
Take three outsiders—the easy girl, the ethnic one and the new girl in school. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HIROSHIMA DREAMS by Kelly Easton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"Lin's observations of her family drawn between two cultures—with very different ways of seeing the world and speaking about it—has appeal for a remarkably wide range of ages, especially fans of An Na's A Step from Heaven (2001) or Cynthia Kadohata's Kira-Kira (2004). (Fiction. 9-16)"
Lin is extraordinarily shy but forms a bond with Obaachan, her Japanese grandmother, who comes to live with Lin's multi-racial family in New England. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LIFE HISTORY OF A STAR by Kelly Easton
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2001

"Try this on fans of Naylor's 'Alice' books, or Judy Blume's novels for tweens. (Fiction. 12-15)"
"Why can't changes ever be good?" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE OUTLANDISH ADVENTURES OF LIBERTY AIMES  by Kelly Easton
ADVENTURE
Released: June 9, 2009

"Dashes of kindness and dollops of wordplay sweeten the oft-bitter pot, as do Swearingen's expressive, comical pencil illustrations. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
Her name is Liberty, but she's never been allowed to leave the house in her ten years of life, not even for school. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A PLACE FOR ELIJAH by Kelly Easton Ruben
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2016

"A sweet Pesach indeed. (afterword) (Picture book. 5-9)"
Everyone is welcome at the Seder table, but will there be a seat for the Prophet Elijah? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOYS DON'T KNIT by T.S. Easton
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 24, 2015

"Wacky characters, a farcical plot and a fledgling romance are all part of the fun in this novel that will appeal to fans of Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging.(Fiction. 12-16)"
An unwilling accomplice to petty theft organized by his dim friends, English teen Ben Fletcher is annoyed that he was the one busted when he collided with a crossing guard. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CONTEST by Bennett Easton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 16, 2015

"An imaginative debut with memorable characters and a pleasant dose of idealism."
In Easton's debut novel, an elderly philanthropist questions the success of her life's work and launches a worldwide contest to help solve the problems plaguing mankind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO INTERMISSIONS by Carol Easton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 29, 1996

"Easton says, but this is a generally objective and useful summary of de Mille's life and works."
A lively biography of the choreographer who helped recreate the Broadway musical, infused ballet with American verve and humor, and became a leading spokesperson for dance and the arts in general. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POWER AND GLORY by Robert Easton
Released: April 30, 1989

A tedious and turgid saga of California in the mid-19th century, sequel to Easton's This Promised Land (1982). Read full book review >