Search Results: "Ken Follett"


BOOK REVIEW

CODE TO ZERO by Ken Follett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 4, 2000

"Full of misplaced Cold War nostalgia and dreary, threadbare characters. And really now, amnesia? In this day and age? With a straight face?"
From veteran spymeister Follett (The Hammer of Eden, 1998, etc.), the story of a the space race that never gets off the ground. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON WINGS OF EAGLES by Ken Follett
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 20, 1983

"Still, for readers partial to macho sentiment, gung-ho theatrics, and can-do philosophy, this is solidly diverting action-entertainment—with the byline (if not the shapely melodrama) of a proven best-seller."
Based on interviews with nearly everyone involved (except the Iranians): a competent, not-too-novelized reconstruction of Texas entrepreneur Ross Perot's efforts to engineer the rescue of two unfairly jailed executives in Tehran. . . just as the Shah's regime was collapsing in 1979. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAN FROM ST. PETERSBURG by Ken Follett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 14, 1982

"Still, though this is Follett's weakest book by far, the big-name byline and the overall readability (plus a jolt or two of graphic sex) should ensure a sizeable readership—with historical-romantics more likely to be pleased than Follett's usual thriller fans."
Follett, whose thrillers have been impressively tough-minded, goes all soft now—with a pre-WW I suspense-romance that recycles the Eye of the Needle premise (woman adores assassin) but surrounds it with the soupy conventions of corny family-saga fiction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PILLARS OF THE EARTH by Ken Follett
IPAD BOOK APPS
Released: Feb. 15, 2011

"Says Tom of the cathedral he plans to build, it's 'simple, inexpensive, graceful and perfectly proportioned.' This app really isn't any of those things, though Follett fans may find it a source of wonder. Now, a mash-up with the text and David Macaulay's book Cathedral (1973)—there would be a thing to behold."
Follett's 1,000-plus-page blockbuster, originally published in 1989, morphs into a sprawling (1.6 GB) iPad app, complete with text, videos and sound. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A PLACE CALLED FREEDOM by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"No surprises, but this TV-movie—bound summer read, despite its flaws, goes down like a glass of cold lemonade."
From the prolific, predictable, palatable Follett (A Dangerous Fortune, 1993, etc.), a not-unenjoyable mishmash of history, romance, and transatlantic adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EDGE OF ETERNITY by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 16, 2014

"A well-written entertainment, best suited to those who measure their novels in reams instead of signatures."
Another sprawling, multigenerational, continent-spanning saga from long-practiced pop-fiction writer Follett (Winter of the World, 2012, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FALL OF GIANTS by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

"With an announced million-copy initial printing and a national author tour, this is sure to be one of the season's inevitable and unavoidable blockbusters—and not undeservedly."
A massive, cat-squashing, multigenerational and multifamilial saga, the first volume of what Follett (World Without End, 2007, etc.) promises as a trilogy devoted to the awful 20th century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WORLD WITHOUT END by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 9, 2007

"A lively entertainment for fans of The Once and Future King, The Lord of the Rings and other multilayered epics."
The peasants are revolting. Some, anyway. Others—the good-hearted varlets, churls and nickpurses of Follett's latest—are just fine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHITEOUT by Ken Follett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 2004

"Follett's trademark tension and breakneck pace manage (just barely) to overshadow the YA prose."
With an assist from a beautiful former cop, a more or less dysfunctional Scottish family defends home and hearth against superevil Londoners. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HAMMER OF EDEN by Ken Follett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 18, 1998

"Still, Follett's (The Third Twin, 1996, etc.) eager and ample following will no doubt come through again."
A man-made earthquake is at the epicenter of a dull thud of a thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT OVER WATER by Ken Follett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 24, 1991

"Hours of good storytelling."
With the Dark Ages (The Pillars of the Earth, 1989) out of his system, Ken Follett returns to the spies, sex, and Nazis that did so well for him in Eye of the Needle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 7, 1989

"It's all quite entertaining and memorable."
Here, Follett sets the thrillers aside for a long, steady story about building a cathedral in 12th-century England. Read full book review >