Search Results: "Ken Follett"


BOOK REVIEW

PILLARS OF THE EARTH by Ken Follett
IPAD BOOK APPS
Released: Feb. 15, 2011

"Says Tom of the cathedral he plans to build, it's 'simple, inexpensive, graceful and perfectly proportioned.' This app really isn't any of those things, though Follett fans may find it a source of wonder. Now, a mash-up with the text and David Macaulay's book Cathedral (1973)—there would be a thing to behold."
Follett's 1,000-plus-page blockbuster, originally published in 1989, morphs into a sprawling (1.6 GB) iPad app, complete with text, videos and sound. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A PLACE CALLED FREEDOM by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"No surprises, but this TV-movie—bound summer read, despite its flaws, goes down like a glass of cold lemonade."
From the prolific, predictable, palatable Follett (A Dangerous Fortune, 1993, etc.), a not-unenjoyable mishmash of history, romance, and transatlantic adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HORNET FLIGHT by Ken Follett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 2, 2002

"Old fashioned derring-do done right."
Spunky Danes spy and fly beneath the radar of their Nazi occupiers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAPER MONEY by Ken Follett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 6, 1987

"So, though the cat's-cradle plot is a bit too contrived, this is crisp, cynically amusing, small-scale entertainment—without the passionate heroics (or the frequent lapses and longueurs) of Follett's later bestseller-style."
Like The Modigliani Scandal (US, 1985), this ironic caper-thriller, written under the Zachary Stone pseudonym in 1976, is appearing for the first time in US hardcover. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE THIRD TWIN by Ken Follett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"A slow starter whose sly plotting and rousing melodrama are dulled by Follett's bleached, lackluster prose and, for all their contrived eccentricities, his bleached, lackluster characters."
Dependable British thriller-factory Follett (A Place Called Freedom, 1995, etc.) continues his infatuation with all things American, this time with a contemporary, Baltimore-based page-turner about cloned kids. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WINTER OF THE WORLD by Ken Follett
Released: Sept. 18, 2012

"An entertaining historical soap opera."
Follett continues the trilogy begun with Fall of Giants (2010) with a novel that ranges across continents and family trees. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MYSTERY HIDEOUT  by Ken Follett
FICTION
Released: April 25, 1990

"A disappointment."
An author of adult best-sellers attempts to cross over with a routine mystery (first published in Britain in 1976). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A COLUMN OF FIRE by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 12, 2017

"It's all a bit overwrought for what is, after all, a boy-loves-girl, boy-swashbuckles-to-win-girl yarn, but it's competently done. Follett's fans will know what to expect—and they won't be disappointed."
A flying buttress of a book, continuing the hefty Kingsbridge saga historical novelist Follett began with Pillars of the Earth (1989) and World Without End (2007). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HAMMER OF EDEN by Ken Follett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 18, 1998

"Still, Follett's (The Third Twin, 1996, etc.) eager and ample following will no doubt come through again."
A man-made earthquake is at the epicenter of a dull thud of a thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WORLD WITHOUT END by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 9, 2007

"A lively entertainment for fans of The Once and Future King, The Lord of the Rings and other multilayered epics."
The peasants are revolting. Some, anyway. Others—the good-hearted varlets, churls and nickpurses of Follett's latest—are just fine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 7, 1989

"It's all quite entertaining and memorable."
Here, Follett sets the thrillers aside for a long, steady story about building a cathedral in 12th-century England. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT OVER WATER by Ken Follett
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 24, 1991

"Hours of good storytelling."
With the Dark Ages (The Pillars of the Earth, 1989) out of his system, Ken Follett returns to the spies, sex, and Nazis that did so well for him in Eye of the Needle. Read full book review >