Search Results: "Kersten Hamilton"


BOOK REVIEW

IN THE FORESTS OF THE NIGHT by Kersten Hamilton
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 3, 2011

"Teagan has a plan for what comes next; fans will have a hard time waiting for her to bring it on. (Urban fantasy. 14-18)"
The Wylltsons have barely escaped from the underworld of Mag Mell only to face a new threat to 5-year-old Aiden and to Teagan herself in this fantasy sequel to Tyger, Tyger (2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TYGER TYGER by Kersten Hamilton
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Buy this novel for readers of Franny Billingsley and Dia Calhoun as well as fans of urban fantasy. (Fantasy. YA)"
Teagan Wylltson's life changes when her parents take in a cousin who's in trouble. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IRE OF IRON CLAW by Kersten Hamilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 7, 2015

"The swift pace, quirky humor, and general steampunkery should hold the interest of readers—especially the mechanically and electronically inclined. (Steampunk. 9-12)"
In series opener The Mesmer Menace (2014), the Kennewickett clan foiled the world-conquering plans of the evil pigeon Iron Claw and mesmerizing magician Madini, but recent acts of sabotage at the Automated Inn suggest the dastardly duo have returned to commit more mayhem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN THE STARS THREW DOWN THEIR SPEARS by Kersten Hamilton
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"This spectacular conclusion will satisfy fans and lead new readers into a complex world with fascinating magic and appealing characters. (Urban fantasy. 14-18)"
This final installment in the Goblin Wars fantasy trilogy is a corker! The quest of the Wylltson family concludes with unrelenting suspense and a neat (but not pat) resolution. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE BOAT by Kersten Hamilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 2016

"Sinks. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A tugboat rescues a sailing family in distress in this picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TICK-TOCK MAN by Kersten Hamilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 28, 2016

"The strongest volume yet in an enjoyable series that keeps getting better. (author's note) (Steampunk. 9-12)"
"Generations of Kennewicketts have excelled at blowing things up." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED TRUCK by Kersten Hamilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2008

"Endpapers that show Red Truck zooming on its way add a clever, finishing touch. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's cold, wet and snowy outside, and a school bus is stuck on a hill. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIREFIGHTERS TO THE RESCUE! by Kersten Hamilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2005

"With just the right amount of tension and a large amount of admiration, Hamilton and Davis have created a sure fire hit. (Picture book. 3-6)"
This exciting look at firefighting is steeped in 1950's style and engaging rhyme. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YELLOW COPTER by Kersten Hamilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 19, 2015

"A good choice for young transportation lovers. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A rhyming picture book about a yellow rescue helicopter geared toward toddlers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POLICE OFFICERS ON PATROL by Kersten Hamilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2009

"A good introduction for the youngest audiences. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After a previous title celebrating firefighters (Firefighters to the Rescue, illustrated by Rich Davis, 2005), Hamilton addresses another civil servant—police officers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIRGINIA HAMILTON by Julie K. Rubini
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 15, 2017

"A biography worthy of the larger-than-life Virginia Hamilton. (Biography. 10-16)"
If the children you know think biographies are boring, this one will make them reconsider. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALEXANDER HAMILTON by Teri Kanefield
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 7, 2017

"A solid introduction to a charismatic founding father. (timeline, chapter notes, bibliography, index) (Biography. 10-14)"
The contributions and eventful life of founding father Alexander Hamilton are examined and explained. Read full book review >