Search Results: "Kevin Brooks"


BOOK REVIEW

BROOKS by Doug Wilson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 4, 2014

"Nice guys do not always finish last, but they also do not necessarily make the most compelling subjects for biography."
Wilson (The Bird: The Life and Legacy of Mark Fidrych, 2013) delivers a pedestrian treatment of an impressive baseball player and admirable man. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KEVIN by Paul Kupperberg
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2013

"A bubble-gum problem novel for gay preteens which may be innovation enough to warrant purchase. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Though he's president of his class now, Riverdale High's Kevin Keller was a middle school mess. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"If shared one on one as a jumping-off point for discussion, some Asperger children may find this effort amusing, but it's a poor choice otherwise. (foreword) (Picture book. 5-7)"
In this Australian import, Kevin, a grade schooler with Asperger Syndrome takes the world too literally, a problem depicted in brief language and simple illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MISS BROOKS' STORY NOOK by Barbara Bottner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"While sequels can sometimes be disappointing, readers and listeners who enjoyed Miss Brooks' first appearance will likely be very happy to find out what happens next—and they just might be inspired to create some tall tales of their own. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Energetic, book-loving Miss Brooks is back, as is Missy, the grumpy, stumpy, hat-wearing reluctant reader-turned-bookworm who is her biggest fan (Miss Brooks Loves Books (and I don't), 2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KEVIN KEEPS UP by Ann Whitehead Nagda
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"With a winning protagonist and an enjoyable cast of characters, Kevin's story makes for a fresh and entertaining chapter book likely to please transitioning readers and give children with ADHD a character to whom they can easily relate. (Fiction. 7-10)"
A boy who just can't stay on track finds himself facing his biggest challenge ever. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A PUPPY FOR KEVIN by Liesbet Slegers
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"A sweetly positive new-pet primer. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Aimed at very young readers, a book that's all about caring for a new best friend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THAT’S LIFE, SAMARA BROOKS by Daniel Ehrenhaft
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Feb. 9, 2010

"A few funny, touching moments cannot save this convoluted mess. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Ridiculous theories of science and the paranormal destroy a promising story of nature vs. nurture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NAKED '76 by Kevin Brooks
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Recommended for fans of punk rock and 1970s British counterculture. (Historical fiction. 13-16)"
Playing bass for Naked, Lili, 16, witnesses punk rock's rise from counterculture obscurity to center stage in London's music scene and comes face to face with the Troubles, Northern Ireland's bitter, violent guerilla conflict. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

iBOY by Kevin Brooks
FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"This classic superhero plot, at once cutting-edge science fiction and moral fable, is guaranteed to keep even fiction-averse, reluctant readers on the edge of their seats. (Science fiction. 14 & up)"
Tom Harvey's world is upended after he's hit by a smartphone thrown from 30 stories up. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK RABBIT SUMMER by Kevin Brooks
FICTION
Released: July 1, 2008

"Exploring control, power and secrecy, with a hint of Lord of the Flies, Brooks crafts a morbid beach read. (Mystery. YA)"
Childhood relationships twist after gruesome events. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAWN by Kevin Brooks
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Dec. 1, 2009

"Even when Brooks is not at his best, however, he still produces compelling fiction that will leave teens clamoring for his previous titles. (Mystery. YA)"
Dawn Bundy wants to kill God. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ROAD OF THE DEAD by Kevin Brooks
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 1, 2006

"Fans of Brooks's Martyn Pig, Kissing the Rain, Candy and Lucas, won't be disappointed by this thrilling, gritty story and it's memorable, heart-breaking characters. (Fiction. YA)"
"When the Dead Man got Rachel I was sitting in the back of a wrecked Mercedes wondering if the rain was going to stop." Read full book review >