Search Results: "Kevin Jennings"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"A useful introduction to some of the obstacles gay teachers face, but this subject merits much livelier treatment."
A book devoted to the experiences of lesbian and gay teachers and the innumerable pressures on them to remain closeted. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAMA’S BOY, PREACHER’S SON by Kevin Jennings
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 15, 2006

"Generous and illuminating."
Horatio Alger meets Dorothy Allison in this debut memoir about growing up and coming out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DEADLY 7 by Garth Jennings
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 5, 2016

"Muddled but fun, with a notably subversive premise. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
With help from seven loyal but decidedly iffy companions, 11-year-old Nelson sets out to rescue his kidnapped older sister. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ODD, WEIRD & LITTLE by Patrick Jennings
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"Jennings does not skip a beat as he builds realistic relationships and problem-solving around an outrageously funny premise. (Fiction. 8-12)"
At last: a humorous, useful and pedantry-free book about bullying! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUINEA DOG 2 by Patrick Jennings
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2013

"With the introduction of Fido's gifted progeny, Jennings leaves readers begging for another absurd adventure. (Animal fantasy. 8-12)"
Jennings picks up where Guinea Dog (2010) left off in this playful, quick-paced tale that touches on some common dilemmas for middle graders. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WE CAN’T ALL BE RATTLESNAKES by Patrick Jennings
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"Readers will enjoy her snake's-eye view of human foibles and cheer her on her way when a chance for release comes at last. (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Like a Dick King-Smith tale with a bit more bite—and a certain amount of biting—this animal-narrated episode casts a satiric light on human behavior but leaves room for compassion, too. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TORNADO WATCHES by Patrick Jennings
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 15, 2002

"The short episode format (no chapter headings) will appeal to the first-chapter set and the third in the series is scheduled for 2003. (Fiction. 7-9)"
In the second story about these siblings, a tornado warning sends Ike, his parents, and younger sister Mem to the basement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WISH RIDERS by Patrick Jennings
FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Well-written but overwrought. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Once again, Jennings offers an odd amalgam of historical fiction (set in Depression times) and fantasy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WOLVING TIME by Patrick Jennings
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Not as action-packed as readers might like, but layered and thought-provoking. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Set in a medieval French village, this owes more to the historical werewolf mythology than pop culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ORWELL’S LUCK by Richard Jennings
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"Bunnicula fans will enjoy making the acquaintance of another bunny who might, just might, be more than he seems, and that touch of mystery gives this appealing, if wordy, episode a dash of piquancy. (Fiction. 10-13)"
A quirky tale featuring an injured wild rabbit with unusual abilities and the anonymous young narrator who nurses him back to health. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUTNAM AND PENNYROYAL by Patrick Jennings
Released: Nov. 1, 1999

"Readers expecting an animal adventure along the lines of Avi's, or Dick King-Smith's, will be underwhelmed by this chewy allegory. (b&w illustrations, not seen) (Fiction. 10-12)"
From Jennings (Faith and the Rocket Cat, 1998, etc.), a quirky tale of two grebes with very different characters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE COLONEL'S SON by Ernest Jennings
Released: March 16, 2011

"Jennings' debut presents a y'all-infused alternative for fans of John Sanford or James Patterson."
In his short, gruesome career, Cotter Banks—the eponymous colonel's son—graduates from patricide to serial murder, with gleeful forays into drugs, kidnapping and sexual torture in Jennings' debut thriller. Read full book review >