Search Results: "Kevin Lewis"


BOOK REVIEW

NOT INSIDE THIS HOUSE by Kevin Lewis
ADVENTURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2011

"A fine choice for any child who would like a pet, with a crafty lesson about the power of perseverance. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Young Livingstone Columbus Magellan Crouse is intent on exploring the great outdoors—and adopting a pet in the process. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RUNAWAY PUMPKIN by Kevin Lewis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"Lewis shows an all-too-common tendency to drop or add syllables to his rhymed lines at random, but he expertly captures the rumbling drama of the pumpkin's descent, and sets up the punch line perfectly. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Lewis and Schindler transform a tale usually associated with Thanksgiving into a "thumpety bumpety thumpin' bumpin' round and roll-y" Halloween disaster-in-the-making, narrowly averted by some quick thinking and ending with a hilarious twist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TUGGA-TUGGA TUGBOAT by Kevin Lewis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"A perfect ending to a perfect voyage. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Whatever it is, tugboats have it, some mojo that gives them an aura of joyfulness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY TRUCK IS STUCK by Kevin Lewis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Featuring the deepest pothole since the one that snared Judy Hindley's Big Red Bus (1995), this gives The Enormous Turnip and like tales an updated setting. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A dump truck, a hole in the road, a bit of counting practice—all give post-toddlers plenty of reason to toot their horns in this dog-gone lively episode from the creators of Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo (1999). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DINOSAUR DINOSAUR by Kevin Lewis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

"If you have a fondness for dinosaurs, rousing words and zingy-bright pictures, then add this to your laptime reading list. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A young Tyrannosaurus rex awakes amid the jumble of tousled sheets and the clutter of toy trains, yo-yos and blocks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 22, 1998

"Despite the current academic fashion, literary resurrections of this sort cannot be taken on faith, but rather require a proof that the authors, true believers both, fail to supply in this otherwise well-researched and readable biography. (30 b&w photos)"
Beat insider Ellingham and novelist Killian (Shy, 1989, etc.) have here embraced a most resistant, though not unworthy, subject in poet Jack Spicer. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KEVIN YOUNG
by Megan Labrise

According to poet and critic Kevin Young’s latest treatise, there’s something more American than apple pie. Bunk: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-Facts, and Fake News is a philosophical history of the hoax, from mid-19th-century circus sideshows to the baseless stories that circulate our social media feeds.

“People had for a long time thought of the hoax in ...


Read the full post >

ARTICLE

MY CLASSROOM FILE
by Julie Danielson

I feel like a broken record saying this, because I’ve muttered it many times here before, but there are some picture books that make me wish I could snap my fingers and instantly be back in a school library. Or they have me scrambling to find the closest librarian friend who will let me visit and temporarily take over story ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE YEAR OF BILLY MILLER by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 17, 2013

"Sweetly low-key and totally accessible. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Billy Miller's second-grade year is quietly spectacular in a wonderfully ordinary way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENNY AND HER SONG by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"A charming, child-friendly take on the ever-popular new-baby theme. (Early reader. 3-8)"
Penny sings a joyful song that resonates in her happy mouse family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY GARDEN by Kevin Henkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2010

"Just plain perfect. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A little girl enjoys helping her mother in her garden, but she knows if she had a garden, it would be something else entirely: no weeds, ever-blooming multicolored flowers with hues she can change with just a thought, chocolate rabbits instead of pests and so on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BACKPACK STORIES by Kevin O'Malley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"A pleasing diversion for anyone who's ever lugged a zillion-pound backpack. (Picture book. 7-10)"
A tongue-in-cheek history of backpacks from prehistory to the 21st century kicks off O'Malley's comics-inspired collection of four short tales. Read full book review >