Search Results: "Kevin Moffett"


BOOK REVIEW

FURTHER INTERPRETATIONS OF REAL-LIFE EVENTS by Kevin Moffett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 20, 2012

"A well-honed but emotionally distant experiment in the manifestation of character."
A multi-award-winning short story leads this showcase of desert-dry tales of life's rich pageant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PERMANENT VISITORS by Kevin Moffett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"Low-key yet sharp stories, etched with a humane vision."
Joint winner of the 2006 John Simmons Short Fiction Award, this collection piercingly depicts idiosyncratic perspectives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SILENT HISTORY by Eli Horowitz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 10, 2014

"An intriguing but less propulsive entry in an unusually robust year for linguistic thrillers."
The world reels with shock and dismay when an entire generation of children is born without the ability to create or comprehend language. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 24, 1992

"Ecologically correct, with lots of well-handled teenage angst and convincing down-home detail; but—though the foreground is fine—the background remains nebulous, and readers curious about the Big Picture will find little but frustration here."
Moffett's sequel to the Ragged World (1991): a near-future saga of furry alien overlords demanding ecological retrenchment; judging by the evidence here, she's dug in for a long series, since none of the outstanding issues are settled or even given much of a workout. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW


"Cathartic and cautionary."
The poignant story of Moffett's wife's Early Onset Alzheimer's disease. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FACE TO FACE WITH FROGS by Mark W. Moffett
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 12, 2008

"Like others in the Face to Face series, this is more useful for encouraging the sense of wonder than for research. (glossary, bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 7-10)"
Biologist Moffett describes some unusual frogs he has met on assignment for National Geographic magazine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK DRAGON by Julian Sedgwick
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2016

"A clever mashup of crime drama and magical realism makes for an auspicious series start. (Adventure. 8-11)"
When a mysterious explosion closes his boarding school early, 12-year-old Danny Woo accompanies his journalist aunt to Hong Kong. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"The book could use more edge, both in its prose and its attitude toward experts, but it should aid anybody engaged with this vital issue. (Author tour)"
A thoughtful, evenhanded, and accessible mix of reporting and analysis concerning population control, by the diplomatic correspondent of the Christian Science Monitor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TURTLE ISLAND by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 3, 2014

"It's a sweet, fantastic depiction of community building, but it's just too bad that it doesn't acknowledge its debt to old, old stories about the Turtle Island that is North America. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A fantastically giant turtle is lonely until others make themselves at home on his shell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET THE BIGFEET by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)"
It's a Bigfeet family reunion! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KITTEN’S FIRST FULL MOON by Kevin Henkes
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2004

"Simply charming. (Picture book. 3-5)"
In a surprisingly new guise, Henkes turns his hand for his 34th book to a retro look, with rough-hewn, black-and-white illustrations that pair perfectly with this deceptively simply story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LARABEE by Kevin Luthardt
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2004

"This is a colorful, seamless blend of simple sentiment mixed with happy intent putting a stamp on why we should continue to use the post office for more than just junk mail. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A subtle twist on the mailman vs. dog theme, but Mr. Bowman the mailman, brings his own dog, Larabee, on his route every day. Read full book review >