Search Results: "Kevin Morris"


BOOK REVIEW

White Man's Problems by Kevin Morris
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2014

"A superb literary gallery of men who can't understand why life has given them what they want."
Life undermines the pursuit of success and status in these rich, bewildering stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL JOE KNIGHT by Kevin Morris
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 6, 2016

"A dark and busy rise-and-fall tale, the book doesn't gel quite as well its young hoopsters."
With his marriage over and his business affairs gone murky, the narrator of this uneven debut has only the memory of his glory days on the basketball court as a youth. Read full book review >

ARTICLE

MY CLASSROOM FILE
by Julie Danielson

I feel like a broken record saying this, because I’ve muttered it many times here before, but there are some picture books that make me wish I could snap my fingers and instantly be back in a school library. Or they have me scrambling to find the closest librarian friend who will let me visit and temporarily take over story ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM CAT by Jackie Morris
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2013

"Slight but exquisite, this lovely hybrid will supplement more comprehensive approaches to the topic. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Striking illustrations and lyrical descriptions will please fans of big cats, but this combination of pictures, fiction and facts may not have quite enough substance to inspire repeat readings or engage general readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ICE BEAR by Jackie Morris
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2011

"Visually stunning, the tale succeeds best as a fanciful, wistful cuddle-up bedtime story. (Picture book. 5-8)"
In a mythical time, animals and humans live harmoniously. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BAREFOOT BOOK OF CLASSIC POEMS by Jackie Morris
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"An ideal collection to give or to share. (indexes) (Poetry. 10-12, adult)"
Stately figures and scenes in luminous colors provide rich backdrops for 74 English poems selected as much for their sonorous language as for their familiarity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE CHEETAH, ONE CHERRY by Jackie Morris
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2016

"The aesthetic pleasures are very strong, but one-on-one adult guidance will be necessary to help young mathematicians make sense of these complex images. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Exquisite watercolor-and-gold-leaf paintings of animals and objects that look as if they tumbled out of medieval illuminated manuscripts distinguish this counting book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SNOW LEOPARD by Jackie Morris
ADVENTURE
Released: Nov. 15, 2007

"It may all seem overdone to adults, but younger animal lovers and dreamy sorts will linger over both the art and the story. (Picture book. 7-9)"
Highlighted by close-ups of a magnificent snow leopard rendered in subtly blended watercolors, this mystical original tale will transport readers to its remote, otherworldly setting. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TELL ME A DRAGON by Jackie Morris
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2009

"Together with the brief verses, the images will appeal to all who love to make believe. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A beguiling invitation to the diverse, fantastical realms of dragons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SONG OF THE GOLDEN HARE by Jackie Morris
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2014

"A lovely celebration of legend and the wild. (Picture book. 5-9)"
One little boy's family holds the secret of the golden hare. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING ABOUT A BEAR by Jackie Morris
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2014

"It is lovely to see natural history and a sense of eco-awareness combined with many children's most beloved plaything. (Informational picture book. 4-9)"
With huge, richly detailed pictures (who knew watercolors could make so many different kinds of brown?) and a lucid and near-poetic text, Morris describes the lives and habitats of eight kinds of bear. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEN AND PANDAS by Desmond Morris
Released: Feb. 3, 1967

"The authors write well with particular attention to detail and the pictures as well as the subject are charming."
Men, women and children now rate pandas on their top ten list of animal favorites. Read full book review >