Search Results: "Kim Ghattas"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 5, 2013

"A personal look at the Secretary's diplomacy via a flexible, pragmatic approach rather than ideology."
An intimate, admiring look at the four-year global travails of the secretary of state from a member of her traveling press corps. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 3, 2015

"A meticulously detailed feat of rare footage inside the DPRK's propaganda machinery."
Exhaustively researched, highly engrossing chronicle of the outrageous abduction of a pair of well-known South Korean filmmakers by the nefarious network of North Korea's Kim Jong-Il. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS KIM AND TOO MUCH TRUTH by Maryann Cocca-Leffler
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2011

"Clearly character education, subtlety is sacrificed to purpose, but it sparkles nevertheless. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Honesty may be the best policy, but Kim's zeal takes this valuable idiom to the extreme. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 14, 2000

"For fans of espionage, here's a detailed footnote to the oft-told story of a senior turncoat and his Cambridge colleagues. To Western sensibilities, however, the presentation of this notorious mole as a man of integrity is a tough sell, indeed. (16 pages photos)"
This text on a fabled espionage case proves to be, like spying itself, occasionally hair- raising and frequently boring, with scant material about three decades of one man's treachery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHANGERS by T Cooper
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 1, 2016

"The identity and marginalization issues loom large, but instead of being shoehorned into side characters, they're scooped up and taken into a deeper, entertaining, fantastic narrative. (Science fiction. 12-18)"
Ethan woke up his freshman year as a white girl, sophomore year as a black boy, and now junior year as a fat Asian girl named Kim. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRIM BEGINNINGS by Sarah Graley
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"An appealing mixture of 95 percent humor and 5 percent horror perfect for fans of John Allison's graphic-novel series Giant Days and the web series Carmilla. (Graphic fantasy. 12-18)"
Two girls attending university crush on each other and fight supernatural creatures in this charming graphic novel for teens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST LIKE FLOSS by Kim Lewis
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 1998

"Setting her story against a wintry backdrop, Lewis captures the spirit of puppies and their young caretakers at play. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The natural instincts of a border collie pup are at work in this gratifying sequel (Floss, 1992) that plays to the heart. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLOSS by Kim Lewis
by Kim Lewis, illustrated by Kim Lewis
ANIMALS
Released: March 5, 1992

After the old man gives Floss, his Border collie, to his son, she's trained to take over the work of the old sheepdog on the son's farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GO TO SLEEP, MONTY! by Kim Geyer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2015

"Attractive illustrations don't make up for a less-than-compelling story. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this British import, a little boy named Max acquires his first pet, a large puppy named Monty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC NOW YOU SEE ME by Kim Siebold
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"An eclectic and soothing selection. (Board book. 3 mos.-2)"
Zoo inhabitants put on the charm in this gentle alphabet offering. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COUNTING IN THE GARDEN by Kim Parker
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2005

"Though captioned by one-liners that don't always seem to be addressed to children ('4 bunnies finding love in the shade' being the most obvious example), this recalls the art of Elisa Kleven for visual exuberance, and makes a promising young-audience debut. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Positively dancing with fanciful flowers rendered in bright, broadly brushed watercolor, this showcases a textile designer's art with successive scenes of small creatures, from "1 cat purring in the garden" to "10 butterflies flitting among the flowers." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALPHABABIES by Kim Golding
ABC BOOKS
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"Most children won't notice, and will relish the jack-in-the-box, haughty queen, or exuberant band leader conducting an orchestra of violins. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A fresh look at the alphabet: Golding combines photographed baby heads and pudgy arms and legs with computer-generated costumes and virtual settings. Read full book review >