Search Results: "Kim Gruenenfelder"


BOOK REVIEW

A TOTAL WASTE OF MAKEUP by Kim Gruenenfelder
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 22, 2006

"At times better than re-runs of your favorite Friends episodes."
A personal assistant tries to define the rules of dating in Hollywood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KEEP CALM AND CARRY A BIG DRINK by Kim Gruenenfelder
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 24, 2013

"Although the humor can be forced and crude, Gruenenfelder's characters are charismatic, entertaining and distinctive."
Gruenenfelder (There's Cake in My Future, 2010, etc.) brings back wisecracking college friends Nic, Mel and Seema as the three prepare for another wedding and one friend follows her dreams. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THERE'S CAKE IN MY FUTURE by Kim Gruenenfelder
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"Gimmicky romp about letting life surprise you. Gruenenfelder (Misery Loves Cabernet, 2009, etc.) too often relies on sitcom one-liners, but her women are smart, likable and good to each other."
Three best friends find their lives taking unexpected turns after a bridal shower game goes awry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 3, 2015

"A meticulously detailed feat of rare footage inside the DPRK's propaganda machinery."
Exhaustively researched, highly engrossing chronicle of the outrageous abduction of a pair of well-known South Korean filmmakers by the nefarious network of North Korea's Kim Jong-Il. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 14, 2000

"For fans of espionage, here's a detailed footnote to the oft-told story of a senior turncoat and his Cambridge colleagues. To Western sensibilities, however, the presentation of this notorious mole as a man of integrity is a tough sell, indeed. (16 pages photos)"
This text on a fabled espionage case proves to be, like spying itself, occasionally hair- raising and frequently boring, with scant material about three decades of one man's treachery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS KIM AND TOO MUCH TRUTH by Maryann Cocca-Leffler
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2011

"Clearly character education, subtlety is sacrificed to purpose, but it sparkles nevertheless. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Honesty may be the best policy, but Kim's zeal takes this valuable idiom to the extreme. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHANGERS by T Cooper
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 1, 2016

"The identity and marginalization issues loom large, but instead of being shoehorned into side characters, they're scooped up and taken into a deeper, entertaining, fantastic narrative. (Science fiction. 12-18)"
Ethan woke up his freshman year as a white girl, sophomore year as a black boy, and now junior year as a fat Asian girl named Kim. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRIM BEGINNINGS by Sarah Graley
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"An appealing mixture of 95 percent humor and 5 percent horror perfect for fans of John Allison's graphic-novel series Giant Days and the web series Carmilla. (Graphic fantasy. 12-18)"
Two girls attending university crush on each other and fight supernatural creatures in this charming graphic novel for teens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST LIKE FLOSS by Kim Lewis
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 1998

"Setting her story against a wintry backdrop, Lewis captures the spirit of puppies and their young caretakers at play. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The natural instincts of a border collie pup are at work in this gratifying sequel (Floss, 1992) that plays to the heart. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLOSS by Kim Lewis
by Kim Lewis, illustrated by Kim Lewis
ANIMALS
Released: March 5, 1992

After the old man gives Floss, his Border collie, to his son, she's trained to take over the work of the old sheepdog on the son's farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO KIMCHI FOR ME! by Aram Kim
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"This brisk, bright family story effectively conveys a universal experience through a very specific cultural lens. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A young Korean girl finds a way to enjoy a traditional dish. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHOSE MOON IS THAT? by Kim Krans
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A visually awesome celestial exploration. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The question of who owns the moon elicits a range of verse responses. Read full book review >