Search Results: "Kim LaFave"


BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GARBAGE COLLECTORS by Paulette Bourgeois
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1998

"This is an informative yet light-handed treatment of the important job of workers who make daily contributions to community health and safety. (Picture book. 3-7)"
In an entry in the In My Neighborhood series, garbage collectors Sam and Mabel answer children's questions about their work as they complete their daily route. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN SAYS GOODBYE by Sarah Ellis
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2016

"Any young child who has experienced the loss of a close friend will find this story resonant. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Little Ben's best friend, Peter, is moving away, and Ben is heartbroken. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN THE RAIN COMES by Alma Fullerton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 8, 2017

"A beautiful introduction to life and culture on a little-known island nation—and a delightful read whether for the first or the 100th time. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-9)"
Although set in faraway Sri Lanka, Fullerton's rhythmic tale holds a universal message: that even the smallest and youngest among us can summon up the courage to face, and overcome, the most gargantuan challenges. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BUMBLEBEE SWEATER by Betty Waterton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Energetic watercolor illustrations of Nellie's wild red hair and her grandmother's squinting eyes provide humor for this tribute to knitters everywhere. (Picture book. 4-7)"
When Grandma Needlethorpe receives a note from her granddaughter telling about her upcoming role as a bumblebee in the spring concert, Grandma has only one thought: She must knit a sweater for Nellie. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A+ FOR BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2015

"A+ for Big Ben earns only a C-. (Board book. 2-3)"
Ellis and LaFave's charming Big Ben (2001) is adapted into a board-book format. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDPA'S GIRLS by Nicola I. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"The voice may be adult, but the experience is recalled vividly enough to bring young readers along. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Warm memories of visits to Grandpa's house, laced with sentiment and sprinkled with Salish. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHIN-CHI’S CANOE by Nicola I. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"This gentle look at the residential school program concludes with the children's reassuring return to their loving family. (Picture book. 6-10)"
Shi-shi-etko (of the 2006 eponymous title) is returning for a second year to one of the Indian residential schools that the Native children of Canada were once required to attend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHI-SHI-ETKO by Nicola I. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"Except in the foreword, Campbell never mentions where the child is going—so Shi-shi-etko's sadness and determination will also resonate with any child who's had to leave a familiar world behind. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A young Native American child prepares to leave home and family for compulsory Indian School in this quietly poetic Canadian import. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BATS ABOUT BASEBALL by Jean Little
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1995

"Spry and snappy as a Nolan Ryan fastball. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Nana is a baseball fanatic—come the season, she's parked in front of the tube, hootin' and hollerin'. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 3, 2015

"A meticulously detailed feat of rare footage inside the DPRK's propaganda machinery."
Exhaustively researched, highly engrossing chronicle of the outrageous abduction of a pair of well-known South Korean filmmakers by the nefarious network of North Korea's Kim Jong-Il. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WE’LL ALL GO EXPLORING by Maggee Spicer
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2003

"This addition to the team's other books investigating flying and sailing (We'll All Go Flying, not reviewed, etc.) will entice readers to explore their own environments. (Picture book.3-5)"
Walking through many different types of trees, three hikers discover the creatures that inhabit the various climes and seasons. Read full book review >