Search Results: "Kim Phillips-Fein"


BOOK REVIEW

FEAR CITY by Kim Phillips-Fein
NON-FICTION
Released: April 18, 2017

"Sobering, smart reading with many pointed lessons for activists."
New York may be an amusement park for the very rich these days, but as this grimly detailed historical account reveals, there was a time…. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"Engaging history from a talented new scholarly voice."
The riveting story of how economic conservatism became one of the leading strands in American political thought. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MR PHILLIPS by John Lanchester
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 10, 2000

"Lanchester's capable, knowledgeable, revelatory homage to Mrs. Woolf and Mr. Joyce (and even to Mr. Eliot's 'unreal city') is one of them."
Following up on his successful cookbook-cum-mystery (The Debt to Pleasure, 1996), Lanchester offers an end-of-the-century version of Mrs. Dalloway—with results as brilliantly captivating as Michael Cunningham's were in The Hours. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 10, 2015

"A wonderful story that brings us deep into that moment when America made race music its own and gave rise to the rock sound now heard around the world."
A monumental biography of the larger-than-life loner who fought for the acceptance of black music and discovered an extraordinary group of poor, country-boy singers whose records would transform American popular culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 3, 2015

"A meticulously detailed feat of rare footage inside the DPRK's propaganda machinery."
Exhaustively researched, highly engrossing chronicle of the outrageous abduction of a pair of well-known South Korean filmmakers by the nefarious network of North Korea's Kim Jong-Il. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS KIM AND TOO MUCH TRUTH by Maryann Cocca-Leffler
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2011

"Clearly character education, subtlety is sacrificed to purpose, but it sparkles nevertheless. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Honesty may be the best policy, but Kim's zeal takes this valuable idiom to the extreme. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 14, 2000

"For fans of espionage, here's a detailed footnote to the oft-told story of a senior turncoat and his Cambridge colleagues. To Western sensibilities, however, the presentation of this notorious mole as a man of integrity is a tough sell, indeed. (16 pages photos)"
This text on a fabled espionage case proves to be, like spying itself, occasionally hair- raising and frequently boring, with scant material about three decades of one man's treachery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 9, 1993

"Overly confessional and, at times, too focused on day-to-day details, but, still—with its appealing, steady warmth and sympathy for human foibles—a lively study of personal growth and cultural exchange."
In 1991, Fein, a documentary producer/screenwriter, traveled to the Southwest to research a TV series on contemporary American Indians. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHANGERS by T Cooper
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 1, 2016

"The identity and marginalization issues loom large, but instead of being shoehorned into side characters, they're scooped up and taken into a deeper, entertaining, fantastic narrative. (Science fiction. 12-18)"
Ethan woke up his freshman year as a white girl, sophomore year as a black boy, and now junior year as a fat Asian girl named Kim. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLEEPER SPY by William Safire
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"Engaging and cunningly plottedwith a wealth of diverting asides on the self-importance of journalists, the duplicity of officialdom, the venality of big-time literary agents, and other of civilized society's burdens. (Author tour)"
Word maven and New York Times columnist Safire's third novel (Freedom, 1987; Full Disclosure, 1977): a transnational thriller with immensely entertaining results. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRIM BEGINNINGS by Sarah Graley
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"An appealing mixture of 95 percent humor and 5 percent horror perfect for fans of John Allison's graphic-novel series Giant Days and the web series Carmilla. (Graphic fantasy. 12-18)"
Two girls attending university crush on each other and fight supernatural creatures in this charming graphic novel for teens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 31, 2012

"A thoughtful, thorough analysis geared toward African-American leaders and educators that offers limited readability for a general audience."
Former high school math teacher Reverend Rufus Phillips explores the root challenges of African-American's self-actualization in this blend of memoir and sociological study. Read full book review >