Search Results: "Kirsten Hall"


BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BIRD, BE QUIET! by Kirsten Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 30, 2014

"A visual treat, even if Little Bird is a little much. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A loquacious bird is first shunned then valued for his talkative nature. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JACKET by Kirsten Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2014

"The idea's originality and the child-friendly instructions at the end of Book's tale make this a novel gift pick for the juvenile bibliophile. (book-jacket instructions) (Picture book. 4-8)"
When a dog named Egg Cream muddies the cover of his young mistress's favorite book, the girl figures out how to make everyone feel better. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GOLD LEAF by Kirsten Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 16, 2017

"The gold-leaf golden leaf could easily be a gimmick, but understated, intentional design causes the book to rise above that—lovely. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A golden leaf becomes a bone of contention in a springtime wood. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A ROMANTIC NOD TO WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH
by Bobbi Dumas

As we close out March, I thought it would be a nice salute to women’s history month to focus on some great historical romance and some truly terrific romance heroines!

First off, I wanted to give a major shout-out to a debut novel that was released this week, Lisa Berne’s You May Kiss the Bride (which earned a starred review ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LOVE & LAUGHTER BY CHAPTERS
by Bobbi Dumas

I’ve written think pieces, essays, book reviews, blog posts, etc., etc., etc. on the amazing power of romance novels - how they make us feel better, uplift us, create community for many women (and some men), help us feel secure in a sometimes hostile world, and on and on and on.

I know not everyone agrees with me on this, but ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES AND NEW DISCOVERIES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As I prepare for another year to roll in, I thought I’d share some of my favorite reads and new discoveries from 2016.

Some of you may know this has been a bit of a tumultuous year for me, but I was blessed to travel to a number of conferences, including RT, RWA, Chicago North’s Spring Fling, and ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WANDERLOVE by Kirsten Hubbard
Released: March 13, 2012

"A thoughtful and meandering travel narrative, this will find an audience among readers willing to take the time to get to know characters whose motives they might not always understand. (Fiction. 13 & up)"
A tale of self-discovery slowly unfolds in this novel about a talented artist who falls for her travel companion as she backpacks in Central America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLEIGHT by Kirsten Kaschock
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"Powerfully original verging on the obfuscatory, this is a novel with no middle ground: Readers will either love or hate it."
Siblings, mysterious billboard messages, maimed children and a bizarre art form coalesce, up to a point, in an unusual, dreamlike tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PERFECTLY PROPER PARANORMAL MUSEUM by Kirsten Weiss
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 8, 2016

"A clever combination of characters you care about despite the silliness and absurd situations that hook you even though Weiss (The Hermetic Detective, 2015, etc.) clearly doesn't take them very seriously."
The Paranormal Museum gets uncomfortably close to its avowed mission when it becomes the scene of a murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRENCH TRYSTS by Kirsten Lobe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2007

"Plenty of red-hot sex, but the book lacks the punch of Lobe's debut."
Lobe's second novel (Paris Hangover, 2006) offers a steamy peek inside the life of a modern day courtesan. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DARKNESS DWELLERS by Kirsten Miller
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 22, 2013

"Here's hoping that this latest volume attracts droves of new devotees for some of the coolest girls in fiction. (Adventure. 12-16)"
Kiki Strike and the Irregulars are finally back, in their third (and seemingly final) adventure. Read full book review >