Search Results: "Kristen Johnston"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 13, 2012

"Another celebrity drug memoir—but an honest, brave and funny one."
Johnston, the comic actress best known for her role on 3rd Rock from the Sun, recounts the catastrophic medical crisis—and the alcohol and pill addiction that precipitated it—that led her to reevaluate her life and begin recovery. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KRISTEN RADTKE
by Alex Layman

“We all do it. Fantasize disaster,” Kristen Radtke writes toward the end of Imagine Wanting Only This, her starred debut graphic memoir. “Perhaps that’s why we stare and get angry when we look too long. There are things we know about the lives we make. I painted this room. I bought this table. I washed these sheets and made ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

YOU ARE NOT ALONE
by Leila Roy

I didn’t used to overthink my choices quite so much. Then someone made what I’ve always been told is a very important choice for me, and now I tend to overthink everything else.

Exit, Pursued by a Bear, by E. K. Johnston

It’s the beginning of Hermione Winters’ senior year in high school, and she and her best friend ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

TOO COOL FOR THIS SCHOOL by Kristen Tracy
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"High drama so compelling middle school readers won't realize they're being exposed to a lesson in ethics. (Fiction. 10-13)"
It's not easy being cool. Especially in the sixth grade. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARTICLE 5 by Kristen Simmons
Released: Feb. 4, 2012

"There are a few engaging action scenes here and there, but overall, it's a disappointment for romantics, feminists and dystopia fans alike. (Dystopian romance. 12 & up)"
In an unimpressive dystopian romance, a girl flees a repressive institution with the soldier she once loved. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHARKS & BOYS by Kristen Tracy
ADVENTURE
Released: June 28, 2011

"William Golding updated with humor. (Adventure. 12-17)"
Thoughtless teen behavior leads four sets of twins on a deadly adventure in a horribly realistic but often very funny survival tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: May 13, 2010

"Despite their differing backgrounds, Virgil and KJ's up-and-down romance is one of emotional and intellectual equals, lending real strength to this environmentally themed rural twist on the typical suburban love story. (Fiction. YA)"
KJ, 16, has enviable wilderness skills honed by years of fishing and guiding tourists through Yellowstone National Park. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FIELD GUIDE FOR HEARTBREAKERS by Kristen Tracy
FICTION
Released: June 1, 2010

"The lack of character development and resolution in some plotlines spoils what is otherwise a smartly humorous, sexy novel. (Fiction. YA)"
Calm, straitlaced Dessy and her maniacal best friend Veronica are attending a summer writing workshop in Prague. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LIMIT by Kristen Landon
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 7, 2010

"Diverting entertainment with an original premise that's never wholly realized. (Thriller. 8-12)"
Fast paced and inventive, this dystopian thriller follows a math whiz who runs afoul of an intrusive government. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TIARA ON THE TERRACE by Kristen Kittscher
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"An entertaining mystery featuring kids who readily outsmart all the adults; what could be better? (Mystery. 9-12)"
Following The Wig in the Window (2013), preteen sleuths Sophie Young and Grace Yang are back for a second outing, joined by Trista Bottoms, this time investigating the death—and potentially the murder—of a man managing their major local parade.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 6, 2006

"Valiant and heartbreaking."
Eye-opening memoir by the spouse of a 9/11 victim. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOTHEREST by Kristen Iskandrian
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A powerfully perceptive story written with love, realism, and humor and that feels fresh despite the familiar terrain."
Conventional wisdom says that when a teenager has a baby, her life is ruined. Read full book review >