Search Results: "Kristen Simmons"


BOOK REVIEW

BREAKING POINT by Kristen Simmons
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 2, 2013

"A slog, with perhaps enough moments between Ember and Chase to appease romance devotees. (Dystopian romance. 12-16)"
The lengthy sequel to dystopian romance Article 5 (2012) sees fugitives Ember Miller and Chase Jennings deepening their involvement with a resistance operation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GLASS ARROW by Kristen Simmons
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Feb. 10, 2015

"The ideas—extreme control of women and their sexuality—are more successful than the story's execution. (Science fiction. 14 & up)"
A teenage girl raised free in the wild struggles to escape the fate of city girls—being auctioned for breeding. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

METALTOWN by Kristen Simmons
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"In this gritty tale of intrigue, corruption, greed, and human rights, Simmons offers readers a savvy take on a post-apocalyptic society."
In her latest, Simmons paints a bleak picture of the future. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THREE by Kristen Simmons
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"The strongest of the series' three volumes, with a tense and harrowing climax. (Dystopian romance. 14 & up)"
The third and final installment of the series that began with Article 5 (2012) ramps up the action as the extremist government cracks down on Ember Miller and her fellow resistance members. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARTICLE 5 by Kristen Simmons
Released: Feb. 4, 2012

"There are a few engaging action scenes here and there, but overall, it's a disappointment for romantics, feminists and dystopia fans alike. (Dystopian romance. 12 & up)"
In an unimpressive dystopian romance, a girl flees a repressive institution with the soldier she once loved. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"The text is uneven, but the brightly colored, detailed illustrations will appeal to children. (Folklore. 5-9)"
Three original folktales take readers on a journey around the world. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KRISTEN RADTKE
by Alex Layman

“We all do it. Fantasize disaster,” Kristen Radtke writes toward the end of Imagine Wanting Only This, her starred debut graphic memoir. “Perhaps that’s why we stare and get angry when we look too long. There are things we know about the lives we make. I painted this room. I bought this table. I washed these sheets and made ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LITTLE LITTLE GIRL WITH THE BIG BIG VOICE by Kristen Balouch
ANIMALS
Released: June 14, 2011

"Young readers can practically hear this little, little girl's big, big voice from where they're sitting, and most preschoolers will know exactly how she feels. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Anyone who's spent time around young children will immediately recognize this little girl, an irrepressible kid who wants only to find a playmate who can keep up with her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUT IT ON THE LIST! by Kristen Darbyshire
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2009

This bird family has a problem: They are always running out of groceries! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MYSTERY BOTTLE by Kristen Balouch
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2006

"Sweet, magical and visually fascinating. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A seven-year-old boy receives a mysterious package that takes him on a journey to a distant grandfather. Read full book review >