Search Results: "Kurt Michael Friese"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2011

"The occasionally florid writing notwithstanding, the book provides well-crafted regional recipes and edifying passages about the surveyed chiles."
Three self-described "gastronauts" plumb climate change through the piquant prism of chile peppers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ODDHOPPER OPERA by Kurt Cyrus
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Two-legged fans of Douglas Florian's Insectlopedia (1998) and J. Patrick Lewis's The Little Buggers (1998) will scurry after this verbal and visual tour-de-force. (Poetry. 7-10)"
Cyrus (The Mousery, 2000, etc.) promises bugs and verses, and delivers plenty of both in this ground-level view of a vegetable garden's teeming residents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CODE BLOOD by Kurt Kamm
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 15, 2011

"An assured, very memorable LA thriller, with an appealing hero readers will want to meet again."
A disturbing fictional trip to the dark underside of Los Angeles life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BREAKFAST OF CHAMPIONS by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 14, 1973

"Carpe diem before the day is all over and obviously a great many people will."
The thinking man's pop writer," apocalyptic fancifier, convinced moralist, and cheerful doomsayer has now in his fiftieth year "resolved to shun storytelling" and write about life as it reaches its extinction in this the year of our Lord or maybe the next one and via Kilgore Trout, the "only hero of our age" whom Eliot Rosewater introduced years ago, and also via one Dwayne Hoover, a Pontiac dealer whose wife had earlier eaten Drano and who now runs amok on that great Interstate which reaches from here to the void. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WELCOME TO THE MONKEY HOUSE by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 19, 1968

"There's the shattering 'All the King's Horses,' a ghastly game of human chess, and the nicest kind of sentiment in 'The Kid Nobody Could Handle' and 'Adam,' All in all, a versatile, volatile talent—inventive, catchy, charming."
Welcome, a warm welcome, for this Collection of Short Works, viz. pleasures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOD BLESS YOU, MR. ROSEWATER by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 5, 1965

"He hasn't made the novel form, at least this one, come to terms with his own prodigious talents."
In the tradition of Joseph Heller, Bruce Jay Friedman, and Ken Kesey, this is another zany exploration of the world of the oversane. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAMPETERS, FOMA & GRANFALLOONS by Kurt Vonnegut
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 14, 1974

"So it goes."
"You understand, of course, that everything I say is horseshit" — Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. — so damn disarming how can you not like the fella? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PALM SUNDAY by Kurt Vonnegut
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 1981

"KV—wildly sentimental but hard and funny on the surface—and sure to please his fans while offering sporadic items of interest to others."
Is this "collage" of Vonnegut's occasional writings "a very great book by an American genius" (as he declares in a pretty hilarious mock-preface)? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: April 1, 2008

"In places, we hear that unique, vigorous voice; in others, only the sad but certain echo of 'nothing gold can stay.'"
From the now-silent typewriter of the mordant humorist (A Man Without a Country, 2005, etc.), an uneven posthumous collection of fiction and nonfiction once again plumbing the madness and soul-destroying inhumanities of war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG RIG BUGS by Kurt Cyrus
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2010

"The bare-bones, rhyming text makes this accessible to even very young children, while the combination of construction trucks and bugs is sure to guarantee its popularity. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Cyrus offers a creative, appealing comparison between bugs and construction trucks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TANGLE TOWN by Kurt Cyrus
by Kurt Cyrus, illustrated by Kurt Cyrus
ANIMALS
Released: April 15, 1997

The glass door says ``pull,'' but the mayor is pushing, and he's getting blisters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAMMOTHS ON THE MOVE by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2006

With mountainous dignity, mammoths lumber across wide prehistoric landscapes as Wheeler traces their ancient annual round in verse: "Come colder days, those mammoth herds / migrated south, just like the birds. / Their menu had to be improved, / so mammoths packed their trunks and moved." Read full book review >