Search Results: "Kurt Pitzer"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 27, 2010

"An enlightening, and precarious, experiment in the ways opposing cultures can merge and acquiesce."
International political relations are creatively managed by a New Jersey restaurant owner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG RIG BUGS by Kurt Cyrus
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2010

"The bare-bones, rhyming text makes this accessible to even very young children, while the combination of construction trucks and bugs is sure to guarantee its popularity. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Cyrus offers a creative, appealing comparison between bugs and construction trucks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TANGLE TOWN by Kurt Cyrus
by Kurt Cyrus, illustrated by Kurt Cyrus
ANIMALS
Released: April 15, 1997

The glass door says ``pull,'' but the mayor is pushing, and he's getting blisters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ODDHOPPER OPERA by Kurt Cyrus
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Two-legged fans of Douglas Florian's Insectlopedia (1998) and J. Patrick Lewis's The Little Buggers (1998) will scurry after this verbal and visual tour-de-force. (Poetry. 7-10)"
Cyrus (The Mousery, 2000, etc.) promises bugs and verses, and delivers plenty of both in this ground-level view of a vegetable garden's teeming residents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAIR by Kurt Stenn
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 15, 2016

"A spirited, informative history of a fascinating fiber."
A hair-follicle scientist offers an edifying look at the biology, physiology, and history of hair. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIT LIFE by Kurt Wenzel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2001

"Taut, fast-paced work from an author who knows as much about writing fiction as he does about the fiction biz."
A couple of literary legends get turned inside-out, revealing both the passions and the pitfalls of the writing life, in this debut roman à clef, set deep inside the New York publishing demimonde. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOOK AT THE BIRDIE by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2009

"For ultra-committed fans and Vonnegut scholars only."
Early, unpublished work from the much-lauded and much-loved American writer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 21, 1969

Then comes the fire storm and "It is so short and jumbled and jangled" . . . because there is nothing intelligent to say about a massacre but it is precise jumble and jangle, disconcerting and ultimately devastating. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOCUS POCUS by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 5, 1990

"Yes, there are occasional flashes of the old Vonnegut magic (a lovely encounter between Eugene and an illegitimate son named after a cocktail, for example), but mostly he is working well below his top form here."
Vonnegut's latest is his most insistently antiwar novel since Slaughterhouse-Five, and is haunted by Vietnam; the title refers to Uncle Sam's Vietnam propaganda outfit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOD BLESS YOU, MR. ROSEWATER by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 5, 1965

"He hasn't made the novel form, at least this one, come to terms with his own prodigious talents."
In the tradition of Joseph Heller, Bruce Jay Friedman, and Ken Kesey, this is another zany exploration of the world of the oversane. Read full book review >